My chocolate peppermint slice

I am known for this peppermint slice. I first made it probably 3 years ago – I was living in a share house in Middle Park and I was warned by my housemate not to use the oven because it made a weird smell. (More than weird smell, he used the oven not long after that warning and MY GOD almighty it made a stink)

So faced with an event to bring a dessert to I was looking for no bake options. I made a cheesecake, and this peppermint slice. There is some weird power in this peppermint slice that I do just not get. People went NUTS for it.

The Monday morning after its debut, I had to write it out and email it to my friend to hand to other people at the party, and there was a spirited discussion about trying white chocolate and dark chocolate on the topping!

The thing is, I don’t particularly like it. I don’t know why – it combines many of my great loves, chocolate, peppermint, biscuits and condensed milk. But for me it isnt that sweet and sugary. Perhaps that is why the people who dont generally love sweets, like this one.

Ben LOVES it. For his 30th I had to make him an extra large serving of it to have at his party and whenever there are sweets to be made, he always asks, slice?

Choc Peppermint Slice

Picture 208

Ingredients:

250g plain sweet biscuits – I used Nice
100g butter, chopped
1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
2 x 35g chocolate bars – peppermint crisp
200g milk eating chocolate, chopped coarsley
2 teaspoons vegetable oil

Method
1. Grease 19cmx29cm slice pan; line base and two long sides with baking paper
2. Process 200g of the biscuits until crushed finely. Chop remaining biscuits coarsely.
3. Stir butter and milk in small saucepan over low heat until smooth. Combine processed and chopped biscuits, with chocolate bar in medium bowl. Stir in butter mixture.
4. Press mixture firmly into pan, refrigerate about 20 mins or until set
5. Make chocolate topping by melting chocolate with vegetable oil over double boiler, spread over slice, refrigerate until firm.

Leave a Reply

