Cookbook challenge: Week 12 – eggs

FINALLY After convincing myself it was egg week the week before, I can actually make my egg dish!

Theme: Eggs
Cookbook: Masterchef cookbook, Volume 1
Recipe: Eggs in Hell

I guess I must preface this by saying for all my fuss and confusion surrounding egg week, I am not the hugest egg fan. When we go out for breakfast I try to pick something that isnt bacon and eggs, although I love quiche, frittata and even egg on my pizza. But when I got my copy of the Masterchef cookbook I KNEW I wanted to make the eggs in hell!

And I must say, this was such a simple recipe. And I am not a huuuuuge fan of spice, so my eggs weren’t so hellish, just a bit tangy. And the result was soooo delicious. The gooey egg yolk ran out through the tomato mixture and the serving was just the right size for my very late Friday night dinner.

Egg in Hell

(I dont have the cookbook with me but this is the recipe as I remember it. I will try to go back and verify it is all correct!)

1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 onion, diced
2 tomatos, diced
2 rashers bacon
1 egg
handful of cheese, to sprinkle on top
As much tabasco as you can handle
2 slices bread, chopped into soldiers (or strips)
Olive oil

  1. Cook the onion and garlic in a frypan until soft. Add the tomato and cook until pulpy. Add the tabasco sauce and stir.
  2. Line a cup or ramekin with the tomato mixture, crack an egg over the top and sprinkle with cheese (I used feta but grated would be best.)
  3. Place under the grill for 2 – 3 minutes or until egg is just set
  4. Add a tablespoon olive oil to a frypan. Cook bacon in the frypan until nice and crispy.
  5. Cook the bread soldiers in the same frypan as the bacon was cooked in. (I skipped this step. It was after 8 on a Friday night and I was desperate to just be sitting on the couch. I had mine with plain ol toast!)
  6. Enjoy

The best thing about this recipe is that you will most likely have all these ingredients in your fridge at any one time which makes it very easy to whip up. You could even substitute the tomato mixture for salsa or canned tomatoes if you really want.

9 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 12 – eggs

  1. Really like this recipe – seems easy enough to make and straight forward ingredients. Looks yummy!

  2. LOL I love the name for these! I gues you can’t complain that it’s too spicy with a name like that! :)

  3. Haha, eggs in hell! Looks like a simple and easy recipe though. I do like baked eggs!

  4. I’m not a huge egg fan myself, and wasn’t looking forward to egg week either!

    I thought it was eggs in hell based on the picture! Looks good, I’ll have to try it myself!

  5. What a great name for a recipe! It’s looks like a yummy breakfast!

  6. Ditto, love the name & the recipe sounds great, am loving baked eggs at the moment

  7. Love the name! Eggs in Hell…. heh
    I would have this for Sunday brunch!

  8. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W12 (Egg) - Steamed silky eggs | Addictive and consuming

  9. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 12 Eggs theme round up

Leave a Reply

