Bondi Chai Vanilla and Honey Cupcakes with Cinnamon buttercream

I totally NEVER win anything! I put it down to my extremely common first and last name. But a while back I was fortunate enough to win a packet of Vanilla and Honey Bondi chai from Something by Kate! Its taken me a while to get around to making them, but I finally did!

I made these for an Engagement party recently held for some good friends of mine. They are big chai latte drinkers, so I knew these would be right up their alley! I must confess though, I have NEVER tasted chai before so the entire time I was tasting the batter thinking to myself, I wonder if this is what it is meant to taste like?

No matter though, I really liked these cupcakes! They were sweet and spicy at the same time, and the honey flavour in them went together really well. And I now quite like a chai! (got to use up the rest of the bag!) They did taste better once they had a bit of time to really cool down, and in truth, my buttercream icing failed (note: if you want to make it, make sure you have a very powerful stand mixer as my handheld one is not up to the task) to hold its shape, but a bit of icing sugar mixed in there made it a less runny version and the honey cinnamon taste was a really good compliment to the vanilla chai honey cupcake!

Chai and honey cupcakes

 3 chai spice tea bags
2/3 cup boiling water
1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup honey
4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
¼ cup buttermilk
1 large egg at room temperature

Position rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 175C. Line a standard muffin tray with paper liners. In a small bowl, steep the teabags in  the boiling water for 5 minutes. (Or if using Bondi Chai, please put 3 serves of tea in bowl, as per packet instructions.) Discard the tea bags and let the tea cool to room temperature. 

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, brown sugar, baking soda and salt. In a large bowl combine the honey, melted butter, buttermilk, chai mixture and egg. Add the flour and using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat until just combined.

Divide the batter evenly amongst the muffin cups, filling until about ¾ full. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean (around 15-20 minutes)

Let the cupcakes cool completely (about 1 hour) before icing.

 Basic Buttercream

3 large egg whites, at room temperature
¾ cup sugar
Pinch salt
1 cup butter, divided into pieces
Cinnamon for flavouring
Dash of honey for flavouring 

In a large, clean, heatproof bowl combine the egg whites and sugar. Set the bowl over, but not touching, simmering water. Heat the mixture, whisking constantly, until the sugar has completely dissolved and the mixture is warm to the touch – roughly 2 minutes. 

Remove the bowl from a saucepan. Using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg white mixture until fluffy, cooled to room temperature and holds stiff peaks, about 6 minutes.

With the mixer on medium speed, add the salt and butter, a few pieces at a time, beating well after each addition. If the frosting appears to separate or is very liquid after the butter is added, continue to beat on high speed until smooth and creamy (about 3-5 minutes). Add the flavouring of your choice and frost away.

6 responses to “Bondi Chai Vanilla and Honey Cupcakes with Cinnamon buttercream

  1. Lovely cupcakes! thanks for reminding me, I have a packet of this in my pantry! :D

  2. I am totally making these!
    Yay for winning something =D

  3. I made these cupcakes for co-workers. I doubled the recipe and that made roughly 24 cupcakes. The cake part was fairly easy to follow but since I did not have an electric mixer, the frosting didn’t thicken how I had hoped. Next time I am investing in a mixer! Anyway, the recipe was great, the cupcakes were a hit at work, I basically ended up using the thin frosting as a glaze ( I added a little tapioca). Thanks for the great recipe!

  4. Id like to try the recipe. I may be blind, but I dont see what we are supposed to do with the tea. After the tea was put aside to cool to room temperature, you don’t mention it again.

    • Oh you are right! So sorry about that! You add the chai mixture in with the other liquids (eggs, buttermilk, honey and butter)
      Hopefully you get the chance to make them! They are really yummy :)

Leave a Reply

