Cookbook Challenge: Week 25 – Silky

I was absolutely stumped by the Silky theme for this week. I nearly went down the path of making a silken tofu cheesecake, until my friends pointed out they would SO not be eating that. Someone suggested lemon curd, but being that I am not a huge fan of citrus, I discovered this instead: Raspberry curd.

And oh my god… is that stuff good.

Raspberry Curd – As seen on Notes from My Food Diary, originally from Luscious Berry Desserts by Lori Longbotham

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
Two 1/2-pints ripe raspberries or one 12-ounce package frozen raspberries, thawed (1 1/2 cups)
5 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
3/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 to 3 tsp fresh lemon juice (omitted… I was pressed for time and totally forgot. I personally didnt think it was needed though, but I can eat pure sugar so thats just me)

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the raspberries, egg yolks, sugar, and salt and cook, mashing the berries and stirring frequently at first and them constantly at the end, until thickened, about 10 minutes.

Pour the mixture through a coarse strainer set over a bowl, pressing hard on the solids to extract as much liquid as possible. Cool to room temperature; the curd will continue to thicken as it cools. Stir in lemon juice to taste. Refrigerate, covere, until ready to serve, or for up to 1 month.

Please excuse my shocking pictures… I was rushing to do a billion things at once and didnt realise how bad the shots were until now!

I decided to use my raspberry curd in a Vanilla cake with marshmallow frosting (the leftover egg whites from the curd mixture).

Vanilla Daisy Cake Mixture from the Crabapple Bakery Cookbook

2 ¾ cup plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
200g softened unsalted butter (I used nutellex)
1 ¾ cups caster sugar
4 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup milk (I used soy milk)

Prehead oven to 170C. Lightly grease two 23cm round cake tins. 

Sift together the flour and baking powder. In a separate bowl, cream the butter for 1 – 2 minutes. Add the caster sugar a third at a time, beating for 2 minutes after each addition. After the last addition, beat until the mixture is light and fluffy and the sugar has almost dissolved. Add eggs, one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition or until mixture is light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract and beat until combined.

Add a third of the flour to the creamed mixture and beat on low speed until combined.  Add half the milk  and beat until combined.  Repeat this process. Add the remaining third of the flour and beat until thoroughly combined.  Do not over-beat as this will toughen the mixture. 

Divide mixture between two cake tins. Bake for 35 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

 Marshmallow Frosting from the Crabapple Bakery

3 egg whites
480g sugar
3 teaspoons light corn syrup
¼ teaspoon of cream of tartar
150ml water
¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
Pink food colouring

In a metal bowl combine the egg whites, sugar, corn syrup, cream of tartar and water. Place the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water (making sure the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water) and beat continuously with a hand held mixer until the mixture is light and fluffy and forms soft peaks. Take the bowl off the heat and add the vanilla and a few drops of food colouring. Whisk the mixture until it forms stiff peaks.

To Assemble the cake:

Level the 2 cakes with a knife. If the size of the cake allows it, split in half again with a knife. Pipe a “control” line of icing around the edge of the cake. Fill the inside with the raspberry curd.

As below:

Place the cake layers one on top of each other. Ice the top and sides of the cake. And wala!

The result?

A very yummy cake. My frosting skills arent so good – and neither are my cake levelling ones! But, even though he wasn’t that pretty, he sure did taste good. The raspberry curd is really the big winner here – it is seriously delicious and really helps to bring out the vanilla flavour in the cake. A few days on, I am still drooling over that curd, so I will definately be making that again!

7 responses to “Cookbook Challenge: Week 25 – Silky

  1. Ooh I’ve always wanted to try that marshmallow icing from Crapapple’s book! the cake looks lovely and you can see how smooth the raspberry is! :o

  2. Looks perfect! I think I’ll try it in strawberry. I love strawberries! or blueberries.

  3. You might not have to tell your friends exactly what they are eating next time ;) haha
    I was stumped too, but you did a fantastic job!

  4. The curd sounds so yummy, I’m actually thinking about making it right now…thanks!

  5. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 25 Silky theme round up

Leave a Reply

