Cookbook challenge – week 26 – Green

Ah green week! At first the theme really wasn’t doing it for me… until I sat and thought about how much green I actually do eat – from the fresh vegies and spinach (which I am obsessed with) to fresh herbs and even choc mint cupcakes!
I decided to keep it pretty simple, with a homemade pesto and a brocolli pasta. I must confess, I have made this before and I love the dish. But whenever I try to make it again the boy always shoots it down. He forgets that he loves the dish too – but the idea of evil broccoli as the star of the dish? It is too much for him. Whenever I serve up broccoli on the plate, I have to give him two more pieces than me, just to ensure he eats at least a decent amount! Unlike me, the boy is not a big fan of green!

I did have to add some bacon to satisfy the meat requirement he has but I feel it just adds a bit of crunch to what is quite a creamy dish. I don’t know why, but the little potato pieces add a real silky and creamy aspect to the dish. I also chop my brocolli up real small and that way non-green eaters can’t avoid them!

Basil and cashew pesto
From Julie Goodwin’s My Family Table

200g roasted unsalted cashew nuts
3 cups basil leaves, loosely packed
150g parmesan, grated (omitted)
6 cloves garlic, roasted
Finely grated zest of 1/2 lemon
1 ½ cups olive oil
Salt and ground white pepper to taste 

  1. Put the cashew, basil, parmesan, garlic and lemon zest into a blender or food processor and blitz until all ingredients are roughly chopped.
  2. With the motor running, add the oil gradually, until the mixture is combined but still a little chunky. Taste and season as desired.  

Brocolli and Pesto tagliatelle
From Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food
 

1 medium potato
1 head of broccoli
A large bunch of fresh basil
70g parmesan cheese (omitted. I sprinkled some goats cheese on my bowl at the end though)
Sea salt
400g dried tagliatelle
4 tablespoons green pesto 

To prepare your pasta

Wash and peel the potato and cut into very thin shavings using a peeler. Slice the end off the broccoli stalk. Cut little broccoli florets off the head and put them to one side. Halve the thick stalk lengthways, then thinly slice. Pick the basil leaves and discard the stalks, grate the parmesan. 

To Cook your pasta

Bring a large pan of salted water to the boil. Add the tagliatelle and broccoli stalks and cook according to packet instructions. 2 minutes before the tagliatelle is cooked, add the broccoli florets and potato slices. Drain everything into a colander over a large bowl, reserving some of the cooking water and return to the pan. Roughly chop half your basil leaves and add to the pan with pesto and half the parmesan. Give it all a good stir  and if the sauce is too thick, add some more of the cooking water to thin it out a bit. 

To serve your pasta

Divide amongst bowls. Sprinkle over the rest of the parmesan and the remaining basil leaves.

 Next week on the cooking challenge is insect week… and yeah… won’t be participating in that. Not just because its insects, but I am insanely busy at work. How busy? My boss sent me sympathy flowers! I am working late each night and 6 days this week so my one day off will be spent under the doona and in front of the tv and eating food that is bad for me.

8 responses to “Cookbook challenge – week 26 – Green

  1. That looks flavour packed Sarah! I admit I love broccoli and don’t really understand why some people don’t! But then again I’m not fond of brussel sprouts whereas other love them :P

  2. Me too. I could never understand the hate for broccoli. It’s yummy! Except for broccoli flavored Gerber. I don’t recommend that to anyone not even babies.
    @the dish. It looks lovely. Needs more green though. But that’s me. I love broccoli. Teehee!

  3. Big fan of broccoli too and could eat it every day. Your cashew pesto looks delicious also!

    Don’t work too hard!

  4. Yay, broccoli! I think broccoli is so underrated. I have to make sure my husband eats his vegetables too – boys! ;)

  5. This sounds like a delicious dish & one I might even be able to get the kids to eat, Chloe actually likes her ‘Green Trees’ (broccoli) & I love any form of pesto, I think the 2 sound like a good match

  6. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 26 Green theme round up

Leave a Reply

