Caramelised onions and goats cheese tartlets

A while back some friends I had a tapas night – we ate paella, chorizo, had a mezze platter and empanadas and I made these: Caramelised onions and goats cheese tartlets.

And my god… as I cracked opened the bottle of port I wondered to myself, is the port really necessary? And you know what, there was such a balance of sweetness and bitterness in these. They were delicious. I won’t tell you how many I ate!

I did cheat slightly and didn’t make my own pastry but still, this onion mixture is complemented so perfectly by the goats cheese and like a proud garden mummy – I grew the chives myself! These are definately now on my permanent finger food menu!

Caramelised onions and goats cheese tartlets

 1 cup plain flour
80g cold butter, chopped
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons cold water
100g soft goats cheese
2 tablespoons freshly chopped chives 

Caramelised onion

2 tablespoons olive oil
4 large brown onions, sliced thinly
½ cup port
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons brown sugar 

  1. Blend or process flour and butter until mixture is crumbly. Add egg yolk and water. Process until ingredients come together. Enclose in plastic wrap; refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile make caramelised onion: heat oil in large frypan, cook onion, stirring, until onion softens. Add port, vinegar and sugar. Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 25 minutes or until onion caramelises.
  3. Preheat oven to moderately hot. Grease 4 10.5cm loose-based flan tins.
  4. Divide pastry into 4 portions. Roll one portion of pastry between sheets of baking paper until large enough to line prepared tin. Lift pastry into tin; press into sides, trim edge and prick pastry with a fork. Repeat with remaining pastry.
  5. Place tins on oven tray; cover pastry with baking paper and fill with dried beans or rice. Bake, uncovered, in moderately hot oven for 10 minutes. Remove paper and beans carefully; bake in oven for 5 minutes or until tartlet shells start to brown lightly.
  6. Divide onion mixture and cheese among tartlets. Bake uncovered for 5 minutes or until heated through. Sprinkle with chives.

5 responses to “Caramelised onions and goats cheese tartlets

  1. Well done and I agree shortcutting on pastry is well justified when you grow your own chives! :D

  2. who has time to make little pastry shells when there are so many other dishes to prepare?

    And yes, nice work on growing your own chives! I’ll be starting my own herb garden soon!!

  3. Yay for being a proud garden mummy! It’s so exciting harvesting something you’ve grown yourself, isn’t it? :)

    • It is indeed! I am currently trying to convince my boyfriend to let me have a big garden bed in the front yard for growing veggies – hes convinced I would just grow weird pumpkins though! He is probably right!

  4. You’re so lucky you could grow your own garden. Must be very fulfilling having to cook what you’ve sown. And they will be healthier than those bought in the market (since they are sprayed with pesticides)

Leave a Reply

