Cookbook challenge – Week 35 – Spanish

Ahh Spanish food, how I love you. I have always been a bit obsessed Tapas and the boy and I even had our first date at Santiago’s in Middle Park. It was great, we chatted and I soon discovered that he didnt like calamari, LOVED chorizo and all things sausage, same for potato and the biggest shock: he doesn’t really do desserts. I know, surprisingly though, he made it past the first date despite that bombshell!

I have always been keen to try out Movida, ever since a friend went there and raved about the food. Years have gone by and I still haven’t made it to Movida, but I do hope I can soon!

When I saw these “Bomba” being made on Masterchef a while back I knew instantly I was going to make them, and Spanish week seemed as good a time as any to give it a go. Technically, this is not from any cookbook that I own, but surely it will be in one of Frank Camorra’s books somewhere? Or in a future Masterchef book.

I was actually pleasantly surprised by how “simple” these were… I followed the steps and didn’t have any major hiccups. The biggest one was probably my Mojo Pican sauce which was light red instead of yellow… I followed the steps exactly but I must have stuffed up somewhere? Although, I must say, it does seem a bit hard to keep something yellow when you put 60ml of tomato sauce in it.

The recipe also makes WAY too much chorizo stuffing. It said to only put half a teaspoon of filling into a 50g potato ball, and when I tried to put more stuffing in, it definately didnt work. So, if you make these, you can probably use about half the recipe for the chorizo and still have leftover.

It also said to cook 1kg of potato, but only use 750g of them. I thought, stuff that. Why waste 250g of potato? I don’t recall seeing any other use for the potato anywhere else in the recipe.

The end result was a really crunchy crust with a super soft potato mash and chorizo filling. The sauces were OK – although I wasn’t a huge fan of the Mojo Pican sauce, although the boy loved it.

Would I make them again? Maybe. They were a lot of work for such a small amount of result, but they were yummy. I can see if you had people helping you with the rolling, filling, dipping and crusting part it could be done quickly.

Bomba
Via Masterchef.com.au

Ingredients

For the mojo picon sauce
2 large red capsicum 
250ml olive oil  
2 ½ tbs cumin seeds
2 ½ tbs fennel seeds 
1 ½ tbs sweet paprika 
½ tsp hot paprika  
100ml sherry vinegar 
½ garlic clove, chopped

For the potato croquette
1kg Desiree potatoes
25ml olive oil

For the chorizo filling
1 tbs olive oil
½ brown onion, finely diced
250g chorizo, peeled, crumbled into pieces 
150ml Fino sherry
½ tsp sweet paprika
1 small pinch hot paprika 

For the crumbing mixture
500g plain flour 
4 eggs, lightly beaten 
200g Panko Japanese breadcrumbs
Vegetable oil, for deep frying

For the brava sauce
1 garlic clove, finely chopped  
1 egg yolk 
2 tsp Dijon mustard 
75ml extra virgin olive oil  
75ml sunflower oil 
60ml tomato sauce 
Tabasco sauce, to taste
1 tbs lemon juice

1. Preheat oven to 170°C. Preheat deep fryer to 170°C.

2. For the mojo picon sauce, roast the capsicum, drizzled with 25ml of the olive oil and sea salt for about 45 minutes until blistered.

3. For the potato croquettes, boil the potatoes until cooked through. Peel skin from potatoes and push through a ricer. Place 750g of the potato into a bowl, add olive oil and season to taste. Set aside.

4. For the chorizo filling, heat the oil in a frying pan and gently sauté onion until translucent. Add the chorizo and cook for about 10 minutes. Add the fino sherry and bring to the simmer for a minute. Add the sweet and hot paprika and cook until the sherry has evaporated. Allow to cool slightly and then blend coarsely in a food processor and place in refrigerator to cool quickly.

5. To finish the Mojo Pican sauce, toast the cumin and fennels seeds separately in a frying pan and allow to cool slightly. In a mortar and pestle, grind spices very finely and strain through a fine sieve. Remove capsicums from the oven and cover in a bowl with cling wrap. Once cool enough to handle, remove the skin and discard. Place capsicums in a blender with 2 ½ teaspoons of ground cumin and 2 ½ teaspoons of a tablespoon of fennel seeds. Add the sweet and hot paprika, remaining oil, garlic and vinegar and puree until smooth.

6. For the Brava sauce, chop garlic with a pinch of sea salt and crush to a smooth paste. Place the garlic paste, yolks and mustard in a bowl, stirring well to combine. Gradually add the oil, whisking continuously until oil is emulsified. Add lemon juice, tomato sauce, Tabasco and sea salt to taste and whisk to combine. Set aside.

7.
 Divide potato into balls weighing between 40g and 50g. Make a small hole (the size of your index finger), half way into each potato ball and fill with about ½ tsp of the cooled chorizo filling. Close the potato mixture around the chorizo and smooth into a ball.



8. 
Working quickly, toss potato balls in seasoned flour, dip into egg mixture, removing any excess. Coat well in panko breadcrumbs. Repeat with the remaining mixture. Set aside in the refrigerator until ready to cook.



9. 
Deep fry bombas until golden and season with salt.



10. 
To serve, place a small amount of brava sauce onto a plate and place bomba on top. Garnish with brava sauce then mojo picon.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Cookbook challenge – Week 35 – Spanish

  1. Yum! I’m glad someone made these, they looked delicious on the show. Don’t know if I’ll go to the effort though. Dying to go to Movida but have yet to make it there… The boy isn’t much of one for tapas/fancy food.

    • I think it would be simplest to go to Movida to try them! I am so keen to go there too – the boy likes tapas, but he isnt a big fan of weird ingredients, hence why I havent convinced him on Movida yet! I would take your boy to Santiago’s if you are keen on some spanish – theirs wasnt overly fancy, just really delicious food, and you can go on paella night so you dont have to do tapas.

  2. They look delicious but I’m with you on the amount of work necessary for the final result. But I am a fan of all the ingredients involved, so maybe I’ll make them come a lazy Sunday afternoon. Thanks for the post. Love the pics too! – Gary

Leave a Reply

