Cookbook challenge: Week 37 – Hearty

I am all about the hearty food in winter… the more carbs the better as far as I am concerned! But that said, I really struggled with this weeks challenge because for me, hearty is the same as comfort food and given my love of it, I had made most of the ones I had wanted to make a long time ago!

But I struggled through and made a Moroccan Cottage pie that was delicious.

I added in pastry (therefore making it not so much of a cottage pie!) because I just love pastry! But this was just a pretty typical, hearty type winter’s meal that I would recommend to everyone on a cold weeknight.

Moroccan cottage pie
From Quick, Smart, Cook by Valli Little 

2 tbs olive oil
1 onion finely chopped
2 garlic cloves chopped
650g lamb mince
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground ginger
½ tsp chilli powder
2 tsp ground turmeric
2 tbs tomato paste
150ml red wine
150ml beef stock
½ cup roughly chopped pitted green olives (omitted… I find them yuck!)
1/3 cup chopped mint leaves, plus extra to garnish
1kg Pontiac potatoes, peeled and chopped
40g unsalted butter, chopped
½ cup crème fraiche or sour cream

 Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring, for 2-3 minutes until softened. Add the mince, cook, stirring for 5-6 minutes until the meat is browned.

Add the dry spices (reserving 1 teaspoon turmeric for the potato) and the tomato paste, then cook for a further minute. Add the wine and stock, bring to a simmer, then decrease heat to low and cook for 15 – 18 minutes until the meat is cooked and the sauce has thickened. Stir in olives and mint. Transfer the mixture to a serving dish and set aside.

Meanwhile, cook the potato and remaining turmeric in a saucepan of boiling water for 10-12 minutes until tender. Drain well then pass the potato through a ricer or mash well. Season with salt and pepper, stir in the butter and crème fraiche. Spread the mash over the mince then serve with garnished mint leaves.

3 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 37 – Hearty

  1. Hehe I like the addition of pastry. I’m a pastry lover too! :D

  2. Pingback: The Heritage Cook

  3. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 37 Hearty theme round up

Leave a Reply

