Cookbook challenge: Week 38 – Spice

For spice week I was keen to do something a little different… so I decided to make cookies. For some reason, when I bake I never think to bake a cookie. It is very low on my list of things to make, and while I love nothing more than a good cookie, I just never seem to get them right. (I like my cookies chewy not crunchy)

I had seen a lot on snickerdoodles on American blogs, but never paid much interest to them until I saw a recipe in one of my cookbooks.

So what exactly is a snickerdoodle? Well according to the web, it is a type of sugar cookie dusted with cinnamon and sugar. It usually has a crackly top and is unadorned.

It seems to me as if the recipe I have is not the most traditional of them, and most examples I saw were flat, not round. But even still, these were yummy little cookies.  Strangely though, I would recommend waiting until these cookies are cold before trying them. You know how there is nothing better than a warm cookie straight out of the oven – particularly if that cookie is a chocolate chip one? Not so with these! I got a really dry and crumbly cookie and I was worried that I had just baked a dud batch. But, a few hours later we tried the now cold ones and they were much better. Buttery, with a lovely balance of nutmeg and pecan.

The mixture was also super easy to throw together – it was all mixed and done within 5 minutes!

Snickerdoodles
From the big book of baking

225g butter, softened
140g caster sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract
400g plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
½ tsp freshly grated nutmeg
Pinch of salt
55g pecan nuts, finely chopped
Cinnamon coating
1 tbsp caster sugar
2 tbsp ground cinnamon

Put the butter and sugar into a bowl and mix well with a wooden spoon, then beat in the eggs and vanilla extract. Sift together the flour, bicarbonate of soda, nutmeg and salt, add the pecan nuts and stir thoroughly until combined. Shape the dough into a ball, wrap in cling wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 30 – 60 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 190C. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

For the cinnamon coating, mix together the caster sugar and cinnamon in a shallow dish. Scoop up tablespoons of the cookie dough mixture and roll into balls. Roll each ball in the cinnamon sugar to coat and place onto the prepared baking trays, spaced well apart.

Bake in the preheated oven for 10 – 12 minutes, until golden brown. Leave to cook on the trays for 5 – 10 minutes, then using a knife transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

3 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 38 – Spice

  1. I’ve heard of snickerdoodles before too, but always associated them to “Snickers” like the chocolate bar! That was funny they were better cold – I guess not all things are best straight out of the oven!

  2. ahhh i keep forgetting about the cookbook challenge… man I should REALLY get back into that. *MUST PLAN TONIGHT!!*

    I heart snickerdoodles. made them once before and they were a huge hit!

  3. Just the name along sucks me in…snickerdoodle…love it!

Leave a Reply

