Working Womans Risotto

Finding gluten free recipes hasnt been as easy as I thought it would, I seem to have a kind of bakers block. But recently, it dawned on me that risotto is pretty much gluten free and lactose free if you leave out the parmesan and switch to margarine. I made this working womans risotto and despite my reserves about it being completely microwaved, it was seriously simple. And it tasted good too! The colours werent as vibrant as a normal risotto, but seeing as all I had to do was throw things into the bowl and stir when the microwave beeped, it sold me.

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 large brown onion, finely chopped (used spring onions)
  • 220g (1 cup) arborio rice
  • 200g small cup mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 625ml (2 1/2 cups) chicken stock
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) dry white wine
  • 850g green prawns, peeled, coarsely chopped (I used bacon)
  • 30g butter (margarine)
  • 2 tbs chopped fresh continental parsley
  • 1 cup corn

Method

  1. Combine the oil and onion in a deep microwave-safe dish. Cover and cook on High/800watts/100% for 4 minutes. (Instead of this step, I fried the spring onion and bacon in a pan until cooked.)
  2. Add the rice, mushroom, corn, stock and wine. Season with salt and pepper. Stir to combine. Cook, covered, on High/800watts/100% for 10 minutes. Stir. Cook, covered, on High/800watts/100% for a further 10 minutes.
  3. Add the prawns (omitted), butter and half the parsley. Stir to combine. Set aside, covered, for 5 minutes or until the prawns are cooked through. Sprinkle with the remaining parsley to serve.

Source

Good Taste – November 2008, Page 22

Picture 173
Im not sure if I will make this again – Ben isnt a huge fan of mushrooms. But whenever I despair about this gluten free diet, I know I can just make risotto. YUM!
3 responses to “Working Womans Risotto

  1. I’ve never thought to do risotto in the microwave but from the sounds of it, it’s entirely possible! šŸ™‚

    • It isnt quite as fluffy as a normal risotto – but when you’ve had a long day, its a really quick way of getting dinner on the table and it tastes nice anyway!

  2. Like Lorraine, I never thought to do a risotto in a microwave!

    Looks yummy though. I wish I could have risotto for dinner tonight.
    x

Leave a Reply

