Lemonade scones

I saw these recently over at Rilsta’s blog, My Food Trail, and thought they looked so simple and yum (like all good scones should be!)

So when planning the afternoon tea, I knew I had to make them. Scones are a great thing – delicious enough for any sugar junkie like myself, but they are the perfect sweet for those who prefer savoury options – like Ben.

Lemonade Scones
Makes approx. 14 (depends on how big you make them)

Ingredients
3 cups self raising flour, sifted
1 cup thickened cream
1 cup lemonade
Milk for brushing tops

Method
1. Preheat oven to 200C (180C fan forced).

2. Make a well in the centre of the flour and pour in cream and lemonade. Combine gently.

Picture 203 (mine was not so neat a well!)

3. Turn out onto a clean bench and knead gently until dough comes together and is smooth. The dough will be very sticky so you will need extra flour. Try not to add too much – just enough so it is workable. I think I added a bit too much – but it didn’t affect the taste at all.

4. Pat out dough to 3cm thick and cut out rounds with a scone cutter. If like me you don’t have one, just pull off parts of the dough and roll into slightly flat balls. I just rolled mine into balls due to a pressing time crunch – I made these with half hour to go before people came over!

 Picture 204

5. Line a baking tray with baking paper and place scones lightly touching each other. They will grow while baking and touch, but that is what helps them rise.

6. Brush tops with milk and bake for 15-20 minutes until tops are browned. I forgot this! oops

7. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Read more: http://myfoodtrail.blogspot.com/2009/09/recipe-easy-peasy-lemonade-scones.html#ixzz0VB3XAr7D

 

These were really yummy and when I told them they were made with lemonade, they couldn’t believe it! One of the girls doesnt like her scones with jam and cream, so she just ate these plain and had about 3 of them!

Picture 211

My scones wouldnt sit up nice and straight for the photo shoot – so I got the best revenge possible – I ate them! nom nom nom!

Ben has steadily been working his way through the leftovers from the party – he is a massive scone fan. Weird boy – doesnt like chocolate, but loves a scone.

Leave a Reply

