Oven baked corn omeletes

grab and go omelette

Funnily enough, I had to bake these for work! No… not the usual “bring a plate” type event – one of the publications I do had the opportunity for a lunch idea, and so I came up with a recipe and photographed it.

That said, I have NO idea what they taste like. I gave them to Ben to take to cricket afternoon tea – and he reported back that they were the first thing to disappear from the table. He had one, said it was delicious and that I would be welcome to make them again. He also asked if I was wanting the cupcake wrappers they were in back, because they looked so nice. Bless him!

Oven baked corn omelettes

Ingredients (serves 4)
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 6 rashers bacon, chopped
  • 4 green onions, finely sliced
  • 1 x 420g cans corn kernels, well drained
  • 3/4 cup grated tasty cheese (I used a sprinkling of Feta and salt and pepper for flavouring instead of cheese)
  • 8 eggs (I upped the count to 10 to make 12 of these)
  • You can also add capsicum, mushroom, or any other vegies you have around to these.

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180??C. Lightly grease or line an 8 x 1/2-cup capacity muffin pan with paper cases.
  2. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add bacon and onions. Cook for 5 minutes or until soft. Transfer to a bowl. Stir through corn. Cool for 10 minutes.
  3. Stir cheese into corn mixture. Spoon evenly into muffin holes. Beat eggs in a jug with a fork until well combined. Pour evenly over corn mixture. Bake for 30 minutes or until light golden and set. (I think I only baked mine for 20 minutes)
  4. Stand for 5 minutes in pan. Carefully lift out.
Leave a Reply

