Chorizo, pumpkin and walnut pizza

Picture 252

I think Ben sometimes thinks I am crazy for the ways I use pumpkin and how often I like to eat it! But,  I pointed out to him that Americans are way weirder in that they use it in dessert! I didn’t tell him how curious I was to see how a pumpkin pie tasted…

This was a seriously yum pizza…. who knew that nuts on a pizza would work so well? Even Ben liked it – despite the presence of pumpkin!

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 1kg butternut pumpkin, peeled, deseeded, cut into 2cm wedges (I used half of that amount)
  • 4 chorizo sausages, roughly chopped (I used 2)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 quantity Quick pizza dough (see related recipe) (I used store bought!)
  • 2/3 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 170g small bocconcini cheese, torn (I used goats cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 220°C. Lightly grease two flat baking trays.
  2. Line a roasting pan with baking paper. Combine pumpkin and chorizo in pan. Drizzle with oil and season with pepper. Roast for 15 to 20 minutes or until light golden. Allow to cool for 10 minutes.
  3. Roll out each piece of dough to a 26cm square. Place 1 square on each tray.
  4. Top pizza bases with pumpkin mixture, walnuts and bocconcini. Drizzle with oil mixture from roasting pan. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, swapping trays over in oven after 12 minutes, or until bases are golden and crisp. Drizzle with vinegar and serve.

Source

Super Food Ideas – April 2007, Page 71
Leave a Reply

