Birthday cake

Just a simple dinner on a Monday night… for 10 people. EEK! It seems I had set myself up for just a little bit of stress when I offered to host a birthday dinner for my Dad. No worries though, love to cook and Dad requested bolognese for dinner. Easy.

The cake though… not so much. Due to my new cows milk allergy and a guests egg allergy, cake options were looking a little slim. I wasn’t keen on going down the tofu as egg replacement road, or using bananas instead… so I scoured the internet until I found this gem.

Ingredients

  • 655g (5¼ cups) sifted plain flour
  • 90g (¾ cup) dark cocoa
  • 3 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 660g (3 cups) caster sugar
  • 250ml (1 cup) vegetable oil
  • 700ml (2¾ cups) water
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla essence
  • 100g dark chocolate, melted

Preparation method

  1.   Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Grease and flour a 22x30cm baking tin.
  2.   In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, bi-carb soda and salt. Add sugar and mix together.
  3.   Add oil, water, chocolate and vanilla essence and mix together thoroughly.
  4.   Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour or until skewer inserted in centre comes out clean.

Now, read that recipe closely… thats an awful lot of flour! You could quite easily halve this recipe – and once I had made the mixture that is exactly what I did! I cooked two cakes and some cupcakes out of what I had there… yikes.

Taste wise, this is just a pretty traditional chocolate cake. It is quite moist, which is good, and I jazzed it up by cutting it in half and making icing sugar cream and strawberries as the filling. I actually used a touch of rosewater in the icing sugar mixture to give it a bit of extra sweetness and that really helped – people were trying to guess the flavour while eating it!

The icing is a simple icing sugar, cocoa and nutellex combination that worked quite well. The extra points for this cake recipe? I actually made it on Saturday afternoon and it survived well until Monday without drying out or getting yuck. It was crumbly but that certainly didn’t harm the taste.

So next time people are coming over with weird allergies to cater to (sorry!) don’t despair, because it is possible to make a good chocolate cake without the dairy and eggs!

6 responses to “Birthday cake

  1. When it comes to decadent desserts, it is a little hard getting around the dairy ingredients. I’ve tried everything from rice milk (too watery), goats milk (too sour) etc…

    Good job on the alternatives! Droolwothy icing

  2. That’s great that you managed to find a recipe with no milk or eggs! I’m sure it would have been very difficult!

    Happy birthday to your dad! And good on you for hosting it! 🙂

  3. Ok, that cake? Looks DEVINE! YUM!

  4. What a lovely cake – happy belated birthday to your Dad.

  5. Having been at the dinner, can vouch for this cake being delish! Meanwhile having just suffered my own first epic failure at cooking for the masses, you definitely get kudos for cooking for 10. Good work Sugar Junkie 🙂

  6. Lovely and Looks DEVINE! YUM

Leave a Reply

