Yorkshire pudding

The Jamie Oliver cookbook has done it again… to say I was curious when I saw the recipe for Yorkshire puddings was an understatement. I have never actually tried one, and when I asked Ben about them (he lived in England for a year) he said they were soooo delicious.

I decided to brave the recipe (which was simple when you got into it) and make them! Not having any clue what they were meant to taste like made these a little tricky… but I think we got there in the end!

The taste, quite simply, was like a puffy, hot, pancake! Ben said it tasted like it was meant to, albeit a smaller version (apparently theyre huge over there) Im not sure what I think of them… on the one hand, yum, fluffy pancake, on the other…. well it was a bit too sweet for a dinner thing?

I think if I were to make them again (and I probably will… we have some english friends who miss their puddings!) I would use a bit more salt and pepper and keep them in the oven a touch longer.

Ingredients

Makes 12 (I got 8)

 3 eggs
115g plain flour
Pinch of sea salt
285ml milk
Vegetable oil
 

To prepare

Whisk the eggs, flour, salt and milk together in a bowl to make your batter. Pour into a jug and rest for 30 minutes before you use it – this will help make it smoother, giving you light and crispy puddings.

 To cook

Turn the oven up to the highest temperature and let it preheat fully. As its warming up, put a muffin tray onto a baking tray and place on the top shelf of the oven. When oven is to temperature, remove trays, close the door and add a tablespoon of vegetable oil to each muffin hole. Pop the tray back in the oven for 5 minutes, until the oil is smoking hot. Open the oven door and slide the shelf with the trays on it halfway out. Quickly fill each muffin hole with batter then slide carefully back into the oven.

 (Sorry for the bad photo – Ben took it while we were working quickly so I didnt get burnt!)

Leave the oven door shut for at least 15 minutes and don’t open it to check how the puddings are doing otherwise they’ll end up sunken. After 15 minutes the puddings will be crisp and golden with a fluffy centre. If you prefer them crispy all the way through, turn the oven down to 150c and cook for another 10 minutes. Remove puddings from muffin trays, serve immediately.

All puffed and golden

Served with a traditional brits bangers and mash (I didnt get all the way through this meal! sooo filling)

Inside shot!

One response to “Yorkshire pudding

  1. Oooh, they look great! I’ve never made yorkshire puddings but it’s on my list of things to try one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

