Home made basil pesto

Pesto is just one of those things I never thought to make myself. But when necessity (allergies!) meant that I couldn’t eat the store bought variety anymore, I wasn’t willing to go without.

It was seriously simple too! And it had such a different flavour… it was really rich, full and a lot fresher tasting too! So I am very glad I gave this a shot! Now if only my blasted basil plants would stop dying on me, I could make pesto fresh from my garden!

RECIPE

2 cups firmly packed basil leaves
½ cup roasted pine nuts
2 cloves garlic, quartered
½ cup olive oil
1/3 cup parmesan cheese (I subbed in some feta)

 1. Process basil, nuts and garlic until finely chopped. Add in oil, in a thin, steady stream until combined. Add cheese, process until combined.

3 responses to “Home made basil pesto

  1. Yum! I love pesto, should really try making it myself one day though 😛 x

  2. Fantastic! I remember making my first pesto and wondering why it had taken me so long! 🙂

  3. Pesto is so simple to make and, you are right, when you make it yourself it tastes so much better than any store-bought variety!

    I love it and I can never make enough of it. Whenever I have several batches in the freezer I find excuses to use them so they are gone in a flash. 🙂

    Hey, check out my website and maybe you can find help to keep your basil plants alive so you can make more pesto.

Leave a Reply

