Vanilla “surprise” cupcakes with chocolate icing

A farewell morning tea proved to be a perfect excuse to make some cupcakes. Only this whole no-dairy thing means re-thinking every thing I cook and trying out new ways of finding substitutes.

With that in mind, I decided to start simple – with a vanilla cupcake. I used my go-to vanilla recipe:

Vanilla Cupcakes – Cupcakes by Shelly Kaldunski

1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
¾ cup sugar
6 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg, plus 1 large egg white at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup whole milk

 Preheat oven to 350F. Line a standard muffin tin with papers.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium high speed, beat the sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add the egg and egg white one at a time, beating well on low speed after each addition. Beat in the vanilla.

Add the flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with the milk in 2 additions. Beat on medium high until no traces of flour remain, scraping down the sides as you go. Do not overbeat.

Divide the batter evenly amongst the pans, filling each ¾ full. Bake until light and golden – 18-20 minutes. Let the cupcakes cool for 1 hour before icing.

I subbed the butter with nutellex and the milk for soy milk.

I also threw in a little surprise:

A piece of dark chocolate (dairy, nut, gluten free. Oh the fun I am having!)

The result was a nice, fluffy cupcake with a melty chocolate centre! mmm!

I topped with some chocolate icing (nutellex, icing sugar, cocoa and some melted dark chocolate all mixed together) to give it some more chocolatey goodness and I was quite surprised by how I couldn’t taste a difference to the normal cupcakes! They were perhaps a touch dryer? So next time I will incorporate a touch more milk. That said, a banana in the mixture was always my favourite milk alternative!

Slice shot!

They went down a treat at morning tea and I was just grateful I had something I could actually eat because the temptation may have proved too much amongst all those other cakes and cheeses!

One response to “Vanilla “surprise” cupcakes with chocolate icing

  1. I love cupcakes with a little surprise in them! Makes them even more delightful than they already are! 😀

Leave a Reply

