Cookbook challenge: Hor d’oeuvres

This is my first week participating in the Cookbook Challenge??and the topic was Hor D’oeuvres. I took the (rather boring!) opinion that this meant finger food and decided to make… sausage rolls!

Theme: Hor d’oeuvres
Cookbook: AWW Cook (How to cook absolutely everything)

Sausage rolls were actually one of the first things I learnt to cook – thanks to my Nan. And although it has been years since I’ve made them, they are certainly an easy, yet delicious thing to make! I think we are so used to just buying sausage rolls for our dinner parties from the pack, that we dont consider making them anymore. Its a shame! I whipped these up in a short time on Friday night for the boy to take to cricket the next day. He reported back that they went very quickly, which can only be a good thing!

Sausage Rolls

1 medium brown onion, chopped finely
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
500g sausage mince
500g beef mince
1 egg
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon barbeque sauce
2 tablespoons finely chopped flat leaf parsley
6 sheets ready rolled puff pastry
1 egg lightly beaten
2 tablespoons sesame seeds

1. Preheat oven to 200C fan forced. Line oven trays with baking paper.
2. Combine onion, breadcrumbs, minces, egg, paste, sauce, and parsley in a large bowl.
3. Cut pastry sheets in half lengthways. Place equal amounts of filling mixture length ways along centre of each pastry piece. Roll each piece from wide edge to enclose filling. Cut rolls into 6 pieces, place rolls, seam side down, on trays. Brush with egg, sprinkle with sesame seeds, cut small slit on top of each roll. Bake about 25 minutes.

(modelled by my lovely sesame assistant!)
4. Serve hot, with tomato sauce if desired.

(Sorry for the blurry pictures, I was in a rush and didnt realise how blurry they actually were!)

oh and I totally forgot to cut the sausage rolls up into minis before baking… we got a call when we were just starting to make them saying we were expected somewhere that night (I was already in my pjs at this stage!) and so I ended up finishing these in a rush! Didnt affect the taste though!

If anyone else wants to join the Cookbook Challenge, head on over to My Food Trail

6 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Hor d’oeuvres

  1. Yummy! I love sausage rolls, though I am guilty of either buying the Four & Twenty ones from 7 Eleven or making my own buying squeezing the meat out of a sausage skin! 😛

    The sprinkled sesame seeds helps with the homemade factor!

  2. They look fantastic – I love sausage rolls far more than is good for me!

  3. There’s nothing better than a good home-made sausage roll, with that crisp pastry. Nothing boring about them…yum!

  4. OOoh I love homemade sausage rolls! They look fantastic and I wish I could sink my teeth into some now 🙂

  5. Nice one! Gotta love the smell of that pastry baking in the oven, mmm 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 3 Hor D’oeuvres theme round up

Leave a Reply

