Cookbook challenge: beans

Week 4 of the cookbook challenge brings us to beans! While I love all my lentils and various pulses, Ben isnt a huge fan generally, unless its chilli. I decided to make something I normally wouldnt – in the form of Chermoula Chicken with chickpea salad.

The chickpea salad was right up my alley, but all those fresh herbs for the chicken? I wasnt keen on shelling out heaps for them at the supermarket – but my herb garden is coming along nicely, and parsley is currently booming so that solved that problem. I didnt quite get enough coriander however, as the plant seems to be struggling. It wants to grow taller, but no leaves!

Theme: beans
Cookbook: AWW The new classics – food we love today
Recipe: Chermoula Chicken with Chickpea Salad

1 cup dried chickpeas
4 single chicken breast fillets
1 medium red capsicum, chopped finely
I medium green capsicum, chopped finely
1 large tomatoes, chopped finely
1 small white onion, chopped finely
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Chermoula

½ cup finely chopped fresh coriander
½ cup finely chopped fresh flat leaf parsley
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
½ teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon sweet paprika
2 tablespoons olive oil 

  1. Place chickpeas in a large bowl of cold water. Stand overnight, drain. Rinse under cold water, drain. Cook chickpeas in medium saucepan of boiling water, uncovered until just tender, drain. Rinse under cold water, drain.
  2. Meanwhile, combine ingredients for chermoula in a large bowl; reserve half for the chickpea salad.
  3. Place chicken in bowl, with remaining half of the chermoula, turn chicken to coat. Cook chicken, in batches, on heated grill plate until cooked through. Cover to keep warm.
  4. Place chickpeas in a large bowl with capsicums, tomato, onion, and remaining chermoula; toss gently to combine. Serve chickpea salad with chicken, drizzled with juice.

The end result was chicken with a real tang – it had a bit of spice from the paprika, but the lemon made it zesty and the various herbs gave it real flavour. It turned out really juicy and the chickpea salad was really delicious. The garlic may have perhaps been a bit too much – so might be worth cutting it down to 2 cloves. My only suggestion is to make sure you really finely chop all those vegies – the smaller they are, the better the flavours will blend together.

At first I was unsure how much I liked the dish, but Ben wolfed it down so I may just add this in to our repertoire.

Next up in the challenge? Greek.

7 responses to “Cookbook challenge: beans

  1. The dish looks very healthy and fresh! LOL at in the end you not being sure whether you liked the dish but Ben wolfing it down! 😛

  2. What a delicious, healthy and colourful meal! I must confess I do love chickpeas too-they’re so filling and nicely nutty too 🙂

  3. I’m very impressed that your herbs are growing (even if the coriander needs more leaves) I can’t get mine to stay alive for long enough to need leaves! Looks like a great summer dish, I wonder if tinned chickpeas would work?

  4. What’s in your herb garden? For the past couple of years I’ve tried growing coriander but it ALWAYS dies as soon as we get any decent hot weather. I’ve given up on it this year! The chickpea salad looks great – I adore chickpeas!

    • Ive got parsley – thats growing quite healthily at the moment, chives, thyme, basil – which is a little sad, thai basil which is growing like a weed, rosemary and coriander that just wont grow leaves! I’ve tried feeding it with various nutrients and water it regularly on the hot days and it still doesnt like me! Ahh well!

  5. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 4 Beans theme round up

Leave a Reply

