Silverbeet and ricotta quiche aka “Spinach Pie”

This one is dedicated to my friend Fighting Irish, who asked me when I was going to blog the pie. And if she could be there to eat the pie. Well, she wasnt there to eat the pie, but I made it anyway.

I’ve been making this recipe for a good 4 years now, and it is always a crowd pleaser. Case in point: Benjamin. He likes to pretend he doesnt like the pie, because it has spinach in it. But he totally does.

The recipe is a little odd because it is titled Silverbeet and Ricotta quiche – despite having no ricotta in it at all. I also struggle to find silverbeet so long ago started using spinach instead. I think it works better that way!

SPINACH PIE

2 sheets shortcrust pastry, partially thawed
1 small bunch silverbeet, leaves trimmed, washed and dried (Or 1 packet fresh baby spinach or a frozen packet)
200g rindless bacon, chopped
1 leek, halved lengthways, thinly sliced
2/3 cup grated cheese (Now substituting feta)
3 eggs
½ cup thickened cream (now omitted)
2/3 cup milk (now soy. mmm)

  1. Use pastry to line base and sides of flan pan. Trim excess pastry, place into freezer for 15 minutes or until firm.
  2. Shred silverbeet. Set aside. Place bacon in frying pan, over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring often, for 4 minutes or until light golden. Add leek. Cook for 2 minutes or until leek is soft. Add silverbeet, toss to combine. Remove from heat. Set aside until silverbeet wilts. Cool completely.
  3. Place baking tray in oven. Preheat oven to 200C. Place flan pan on baking tray. Bake pastry case for 10 minutes or until light golden. Remove from oven. Reduce to 180C.
  4. Spread silverbeet mixture over pastry base. Top with cheese. Beat eggs, cream, milk and salt and pepper in a jug with a fork. Pour over cheese. Cook for 25 – 30 minutes or until set in centre. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Things to note: if you use frozen spinach, defrost it and try and get as much water out of it as you can. Failure to do this will leave you cooking the pie well over an hour!

I also now mix my eggs and spinach mixture together, as I find it distributes the flavour more equally and looks better presentation wise.


The leek and bacon give the quiche a real kick and this was my first time making the pie “dairy free friendly” I just used an extra egg to make up for the cream quantity that was lacking and some feta to get a cheese flavour in there. But if you are making this for the first time, make the original recipe as it tastes just a little bit better with the cream in there! mmm pie!

3 responses to “Silverbeet and ricotta quiche aka “Spinach Pie”

  1. Oh, the pie! The pie! Thanks for making it SugarJunkie! Very jealous that I wasn’t there to eat it but this way I can look longingly at the pictures 🙂 Also, not so sure how I would go with the no dairy factor… I think the cream really does add something special to this dish mmm 😀

    • dairy definately helps the pie. but given I cant have any anymore, i will take the dairy free pie over no pie at all! mmmm pie.

  2. Yummy…..I’m beginning to heart green pies and quiches

Leave a Reply

