Fuji apple and walnut slice

When you decide to host your in-laws on a Wednesday night for dinner, firstly make sure that:

A) You do not have a meeting that is going to run late
B) You think about making dessert beforehand
C) You actually clean the house the day before

I made all 3 mistakes the other day, and arrived home at 6pm – a prompt half hour before they were to arrive. Ben was thankfully already cleaning the house and I quickly started getting my menu ready. “Don’t worry about dessert!” Ben told me, but I ignored him. Because you can totally make a main and dessert in a half hour right?

I actually didn’t do too badly with my timings. My downfall was forgetting to boil the water for the pasta until after the cake was in the oven, but never mind! We were eating dinner at 7, and cake at 8.

I decided to make this cake because I have a heap of walnuts in my cupboard that, despite my best intentions, will just not get eaten. I did a search for walnut dessert and this recipe came up.

It was simple to put together, and the only thing I would do differently is to slice the apples even thinner so I could have had more in the recipe. It took more like 35 minutes to cook, and got a little too brown for my liking, but taste wise, it was a really simple cake. It reminded me more of an afternoon tea cake, but with a bit of icecream can be jazzed up into an evening dessert.

Ingredients

  • 125g butter, chopped
  • 1/2 cup (100g) brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup (75g) plain flour
  • 1/2 cup (75g) self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (60g) walnuts, coarsely ground
  • 3 fuji apples, quartered, cored, thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 tbs apricot jam

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a 26cm x 16cm slab pan with oil and line with non-stick baking paper.
  2. Use an electric beater to beat butter, sugar and vanilla essence until pale and creamy. Beat in eggs. Fold in flours, cinnamon and walnuts. Spoon into pan. Smooth. Place apple slices into mixture in three long rows, skin side up.
  3. Bake 25 minutes or until cake springs back when gently touched. Set aside for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Heat apricot jam in a saucepan or microwave until runny. Brush over top of slice. Cut into squares. Serve warm, or at room temperature.

Notes & tips

  • Grind walnuts in a food processor, or chop them as finely as possible by hand.

Source

Fresh Living – 10 May 2004, Page 55

Leave a Reply

