Cookbook challenge: Week 8 – Sweet

 

Theme: Sweet
Cookbook: delicious. Quick Smart Cook by Valli Little
Recipe: Molten Mocha Puddings 

Being the sugar lover that I am, this should have been my week! But given how overdosed I was (still am!) from Christmas, I was almost dreading the thought of another sweet! I originally was going to make something of the sweet potato variety, but then we had some bad news and well, quite frankly I could use a chocolate fix. 

A trip to the shops saw me buy myself two new cookbooks to make me feel better and I spent quite a few hours scouring them for something to make. 

Enter: Molten Mocha Puddings, served with a side of rose meringue kisses 

 

Molten Mocha Puddings 

150g good quality dark chocolate, finely chopped
125g unsalted butter, chopped
3 tsp instant espresso coffee
2 eggs, plus 2 extra egg yolks
½ cup (75g) pure icing sugar, sifted
¼ cup (35g) plain flour, sifted
2 tsp cocoa powder, sifted
Fresh strawberries, halved, to serve 

METHOD 
Preheat oven to 200C. Grease a 6 hole ¾ cup (185ml) capacity Texas muffin pan. 

 Place chocolate, butter and coffee in saucepan over low heat, stirring until melted and smooth. Remove from heat and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. 

 Use electric beaters to beat the eggs, egg yolks and icing sugar together in a bowl until thick and pale. Gently fold in the flour and cooled chocolate mixture. 

 Spoon mixture into the muffin holes and bake for 10-12 minutes until the puddings look firm on the outside but are molten on the inside when pierced with a skewer. 

 Set aside for 2-3 minutes to rest in the pan, then invert onto plates. Dust with cocoa powder and serve with strawberries. 

And because I didn’t like to waste the egg whites, I decided to whip up some meringue kisses. And I made them rosewater flavoured because I really like that taste! 

 

Meringue Kisses 

 2 egg whites
1 teaspoon white vinegar
2/3 cup castor sugar
1 teaspoon icing sugar
1 teaspoon rosewater essence (my addition)
A few drops of chosen food colouring  (my addition)

  1. Preheat oven to 120C/100C fan forced. Grease oven trays, dust with cornflour, shake off excess.
  2. Beat egg white, vinegar, and caster sugar in a small bowl with electric mixer 10 minutes or until sugar is dissolved. Fold in sifted icing sugar, essence and colouring.
  3. Place meringue mixture in piping bag fitted with small plain tube. Pipe 1.5cm rounds 3cm apart on trays. Bake, uncovered, about 30 minutes until crisp and dry. Cool meringues on trays.

And of course, you need the inside shot!

Not very molten right? One thing I found with this recipe is the cakes cooked VERY quickly so I suggest checking them after 8 minutes to see how they are coming along. That said, they were only JUST set, so they were still very gooey and moist and went surprisingly well with the rose meringue kisses! They werent overly chocolatey either which is great because it means you dont get overloaded with sugar! I’ll definately be making these again because they were really simple to whip up, and once you figure out how your oven will respond, I think next time around I will end up with a big gooey chocolatey mess.

And those who havent yet, I definately recommend checking out  the cookbook delicious. Quick Smart Cook by Valli Little because its got some great recipes in there… some seem quite challenging and I am looking forward to trying them out!

7 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 8 – Sweet

  1. I’ve got that book too, a recent purchase. The recipes look great!

    A bit of bummer that you didn’t have the runny sauce inside, but at least it was still gooey! I have made Gordon Ramsay’s chocolate fondants/puddings before and they are awesome. It’s on my blog if you are looking for another type of saucy pudding.

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W8 Sweet - Old fashion honey candy | Addictive and consuming

  3. OMG. It still looks delish even though it’s not molten-y. Also love the meringue kisses. Great work!

  4. Loving your little meringue kisses – so cute!

    This week is berry – it could be yet another week for a sweet recipe? Hopefully you have eaten a lot of savoury food this week! And sorry to hear about your bad news – hope everything is okay.

  5. What a lovely sweet plate of goodness.
    Hope everything is going to be ok at your end.

  6. I’m never good at molten centred anything. It either ends up liquidey or too cooked! Chocolate fondant is my nemesis 😛

  7. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 8 Sweet theme round up

Leave a Reply

