Vegetarian chilli in avocado

I love avocado. LOVE it. Hated it right up until the moment I was forced to try “the best guacamole EVER” in NY and since then I make up for my 25 years of not eating avocado by eating as much of it as I can. Browsing the new quick smart cook book by Valli Little, my eyes instantly stopped the second I saw this. Chilli, served in an avocado! How weird, how awesome. Ben instantly told me no WAY was he eating a whole half an avocado. I ignored him, and thusly made the chilli.

I have since found out that its not that unusual to serve chilli in an avocado, but it certainly is delicious. Ben even ate 99% of his avocado. It really smooths out the flavours and gives you a creamy chilli experience. The chilli itself isnt that spicy, and can easily be made meatasaurus friendly with some bacon. It was also really quick to whip up… I was actually surprised how quick it was to make! my chilli was well and truly done while my rice was still cooking. This is seriously one to try out. yum

Vegetarian Chilli in avocado
2 tbs olive oil
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 tsp dried chilli flakes
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp dried thyme
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 tbs tomato paste
420g three bean mix, rinsed, drained
400g can brown lentils, rinsed, drained
400g can chopped tomatoes
½ cup vegetable stock
2 tbs chopped coriander leaves, plus extra for garnish
Steamed rise, sour cream and corn chips to serve
2 avocados, peeled, halved, stone removed

Heat the oil in a large frypan over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, for 2-3 minutes until softened. Add the dry spices, thyme and garlic and cook for 30 seconds or until fragrant.  Add the tomato paste and cook for a few seconds, then add the beans, lentils, tomato and stock and bring to a simmer. Decrease heat to low, then simmer for 15 minutes or until sauce has thickened.  Remove from the heat and stir in the chopped coriander. Divide the steamed rice amongst 4 bowls, place an avocado half in each. Top with the chilli, sour cream,  black pepper and extra coriander. Serve with corn chips.

5 responses to “Vegetarian chilli in avocado

  1. I just to have an aversion to avacado when I was younger.. it was just too mushy for my liking. But I love it now! Especially with chilli beans and corn chips.. yum yum 🙂

  2. That looks so pretty… and yet I can’t push myself past my dislike of avocado. But maybe if I made the chilli really spicy and yummy, it could work? Will have to ponder this… 🙂

Leave a Reply

