Cookbook challenge: Week 10 – cool

I’m catching up! After my unintentional delay, I am back and ready to catch up on the challenge. I have ALWAYS been a sucker for chocolate mousse as a kid. Ben was more a frog in pond kid, but if there was mousse on the menu, I was there. But sadly, its off the menu for me these days.

That said, it’s always been something I’ve wanted to cook myself. There have been a few failed attempts in the past but this recipe looked so simple, it was going to be hard to stuff it up!

Recipe: Fudgy chocolate mousse
Cookbook: Stephanie Alexanders The Cooks Companion

200g bittersweet chocolate, chopped
4 eggs, separated
100g softened, unsalted butter
2 teaspoons caster sugar

ย Melt chocolate in a large bowl over hot water. Remove bowl from heat then beat in egg yolks, one at a time. Add butter, beating well until mixture is smooth and glossy.

Whip egg whites until soft peaks form. Sprinkle sugar over and continue to whip until whites are satiny. Fold quickly,ย  but thoroughly into the chocolate mixture. Transfer mixture to a serving bowl or individual bowls and chill.

Allow mousse to come to room temperature before serving. If in a large bowl, a tablespoon dipped into boiling water will enable you to spoon out perfectly shaped quenelles of mousse, if desired.

When the titled said fudgey chocolate mousse, it didnt lie. This was by far the RICHEST chocolate mousse I have ever had. In fact, after 2 of us tried, this is how far we got:

Thats about 3 bites each. If I was to make this again (I may… it’s very rich but still good) I would probably serve them in a shot glass, alongside something a little less sweet! The recipe was really simple and it took no time at all to make, and only a short time to set. But, its just toooooo much!

6 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 10 – cool

  1. Ooh, you had me at the word “fudgey”! ๐Ÿ™‚ It certainly looks very rich with such a thick consistency!

  2. Definitely not a diet mousse, judging by the ingredients! ๐Ÿ˜‰ How many servings was it supposed to make?

    Last time I made chocolate mousse it was super, duper rich too. I was expecting a light fluffy dessert – boy was I suprised!

  3. Love the the texture of your mousse. Some are too runny and just looks like cream but yours looks divine.

  4. It looks delicious! I did something similar once and served a very, very rich frozen chocolate mousse in a big cup and people couldn’t finish it. I guess my eyes thought that it looked about the right size lol ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

