The Cookbook Challenge: Week 11 – mixed

 
Well I certainly got mixed up this week! I was CONVINCED it was egg week and so I was all prepared for that. Then I went and checked and well… it was mixed week and OH MY GOD WHAT AM I GOING TO MAKE! After thinking for a bit about what mixed meant, and realising I didnt have the heart in it for some mixed berry concoction, I realised that mixed could mean anything! And so I chose this tomato cous cous and salami salad because it is such a simple recipe, you just mix it all together!
 
Theme: Mixed
Recipe: Tomato cous cous and salami salad
Cookbook: delicious. quick smart cook by Valli Little
And my gosh – I really enjoyed this salad! It was filling enough for a week day dinner, so simple to cook and full of flavour. It came together so quickly that I was shocked because dinner was ready nice and early and I could sit and watch Neighbours (dont judge!)

Tomato cous cous and salami salad

 Chargrilling the peperoni salami adds a nice touch to this salad, but its not absolutely necessary, especially if you’re short on time.

1 cup tomato juice
1 cup cous cous
2 tbs olive oil, plus extra to brush
12 slices pepperoni
1 tsp grated lemon zest, plus 2 tsp juice
½ tsp chilli flakes
100g wild rocket leaves (had to use mixed salad lettuce. Anyone else having the most difficulty finding spinach or rocket at the supermarket these days?)
1/3 cup semi dried tomatoes in oil, drained, finely chopped
120g bocconcini, cut into 2cm cubes (omitted due to allergy)

Place the tomato juice in a saucepan over medium heat and bring to just below boiling point, then remove from heat. Add the cous cous and 1 tablespoon of the oil then season with salt and pepper. Cover with a tea towel and stand for 10 minutes.

 Place a chargrill or fry pan over high heat. Brush the salami with a little extra oil and cook for 30 seconds each side until starting to crisp. Drain on paper towel.

 Combine the lemon zest, juice, chilli flakes, and remaining 1 tablespoon of oil in a bowl and season with salt and pepper.

 Use fork to fluff cous cous grains. Add the rocket leaves, tomato, bocconcini, pepperoni  and the dressing and toss to combine.

Even though I really enjoyed this, it must be said that the boy didn’t. He can’t get over his hatred of cous cous and I had hoped that the salami would entice him, but no. He ate the lettuce, salami and avoided most of the cous cous. Crazy!

9 responses to “The Cookbook Challenge: Week 11 – mixed

  1. I didn’t notice this recipe but it does look so simple and tasty! 😀

    • given my boys love of salami, my eyes instantly go to recipes like this! particularly if its a way I can tempt him to eat something green and healthy too! My gosh, i make him sound like a 2 year old instead of a 31 year old!

  2. Oh no! well it’s egg week this week so please don’t think it’s something else 😉
    looks yum though! nice save!

  3. The boys in my house don’t like cous cous either! It must be a boy thing.

  4. At least you will be prepared for this week’s egg theme!

    That’s great that it’s enough to fill you up for a meal but too bad about the boy not liking it! He’s come around on a lot of other things you thought he wouldn’t like!

  5. Oooh, I love the idea of the tomato cous cous. Sounds lovely

  6. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W12 (Mixed) - Roasted coconut mixed nuts | Addictive and consuming

  7. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 11 Mixed theme round up

Leave a Reply

