Cookbook challenge: Week 13 – love

I don’t care what anyone says, I love Valentines Day. Sure, it sucks when you are single, but for those of us who are dating extremely sweet, yet unromantic boys its a day where they know to put in a little bit of extra effort. We aren’t huge celebrators – there aren’t fancy dinners in the city, or grand gestures of any kind. But it usually involves the odd gift, a home cooked dinner and a few more cuddles.

For my part, I made Chicken and Prosciutto cannelloni, with Brownie Cookies for dessert.

And the boy… well he did pretty good this year. Firstly he refused to tell me what he had planned. Even on the day. I was getting ready and he wouldn’t tell me what to wear! So… we got in the car… and we started driving. We went past all the shopping centres, so we weren’t going there… past all the fancy restaurants out our way… not there either… and finally we ended up in the city. Except, well, we werent stopping. It was only when I saw a sign saying St Kilda that I cottoned on – the St Kilda Festival! We have been before and we both love music and free music is even better! But we weren’t just heading in to St Kilda festival to see what was happening, oh no, we were going in there because Megan Washington was playing and Ben knows I really love her music. We arrived at the stage as she was halfway through her first song and I was really quite surprised by how sweet the boy can be. I do wish he had have let me know to wear sunscreen though! ouch!

So to get all mushy – I do believe I have the sweetest boy going around. He’s always there for me when I need him, drops everything he is doing if need be (like the time my studio apartment flooded), always makes me feel like the prettiest girl in the world and quite simply, makes me happy.

Now, if you still have any appetite left…

Recipe: Chicken and prosciutto cannelloni
Cookbook: AWW How to Cook Everything

50g butter
¼ cup plain flour
2/3 cup milk
1 ½ cups chicken stock
½ cup finely grated parmesan
400g fontina cheese, grated coarsely
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 medium onions, chopped coarsely
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1kg chicken mince
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh sage
810g can crushed tomatoes
½ cup dry white wine
¼ cup tomato paste
3 teaspoons white sugar
12 fresh lasagne sheets
24 slices prosciutto 

  1. Preheat oven to moderate (180C/160C fan forced). Lightly oil two 3 litre oven proof dishes
  2. Heat butter in medium saucepan, add flour, cook, stirring, until mixture thickens and bubbles. Remove from heat. Gradually stir in milk and stock, cook stirring until sauce boils and thickens. Remove from heat, stir in parmesan and a quarter of the fontina.
  3. Heat oil in a large saucepan: cook onion and garlic, stir until onion softens. Add chicken, cook, stirring until browned. Stir in sage. Combine chicken and cheese sauce in large bowl. Cool for 10 minutes
  4. Combine undrained tomatoes, wine, paste and sugar in same large pan, cook, stirring, 10 minutes. Cool, 10 minutes. Blend or process, in batches, until smooth.
  5. Cut pasta sheets and prosciutto slices in half crossways. Place two pieces of prosciutto on each piece of pasta. Top each with ¼ cup of chicken mixture, roll to enclose filling. Repeat with remaining pasta, prosciutto and chicken mixture.
  6. Pour a quarter of the tomato sauce mixture into the base of each dish, divide pasta rolls, seam side down, between dishes. Pour remaining tomato sauce over rolls, sprinkle each dish with remaining fontina. Bake, covered, 30 minutes. Uncover, bake, 15 minutes or until cheese melts and browns.

And a his and hers version – his with the delicious gooey melty cheese, mine sprinkled with feta.

This was seriously good! I don’t know why I have never even noticed this recipe in the book before, but I knew I wanted to show my valentines day love to the boy by making him something Italian because we havent had an awful lot of that since the no dairy rule, and I normally would ignore anything with prosciutto but I am so glad I didnt! It was a mixture of sweet and salty, and a really gooey mixture of the cheese and chicken mixture with the soft pasta. I used a decent drop of wine in it too, so that definately helped the flavour.

Come back tomorrow for my brownie cookies!

6 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 13 – love

  1. Awww, Ben sounds like such a sweetie! 🙂 What a nice surprise for you!

    I like the idea of his & hers cannelloni!

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W13 (Love) - Pineapple Tarts | Addictive and consuming

  3. I first saw Megan Washington on Spicks & Specks and have loved her ever since – your boy is definitely a keeper! You can’t beat a good pasta dish either. Looks gooey and yummy!

  4. I am super mushy as well. ahaha! love the his and her combo.

  5. Looks delicious & top points to the boy for pure romance & nothing commercial in sight. I vowed I didnt want anything from my hubby & he being a pure non romantic took me completely at my word, well at least our wedding anniversary is coming up & he can make it up to me then 🙂

Leave a Reply

