Triple chocolate cupcakes

I am always on the hunt for the perfect chocolate cupcake. And when I saw this recipe on Joy The Baker I thought it looked like a really simple recipe to follow, and as a vegan recipe it also meant no dairy for me! And even better – I had all the ingredients on hand!

I made mine a little different to her though, I whipped up a chocolate “goo” filling, and frosted with chocolate icing. The end result is an incredibly rich, moist cupcake. With one little exception – the tops were quite hard and some of the shapes I got from them were quite weird domed tops! I put this down to it being my first time doing full vegan cupcakes and the difference of vinegar and oil over eggs. Didnt hurt the taste though!

See – shiny = hard!

The Easiest Chocolate Cake

     makes 24 cupcakes or 2 8-inch rounds

     from Organic and Chic

2 1/4 cups organic all-purpose flour
2 cups organic cane sugar
1 cup organic unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon organic vanilla extract
2/3 cup organic canola oil
2 teaspoons organic white vinegar
2 cups cold water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (Or 175C).  Line two cupcake pans with paper liners and set aside.  

In a large bowl, sift the dry ingredients together.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the oil, water, vanilla extract and vinegar.  

Slowly whisk the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients being careful not to overmix.  The mixture will be quite wet, but that’s ok

I poured my batter into a plastic pitcher to better divide the batter between the cupcake cups.  

Pour the batter until the cups are two thirds full and place in the oven for 20-24 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cup comes out clean.  

Cool in the pan for 10 minutes then place on a wire rack until completely cool before frosting

For the goo:
Combine 100ml dark chocolate, with 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil. Microwave on low in 30 second burts, stirring, until melted. Add 1/2 cup of icing sugar to make a little thicker, and stir until combined.

Using the dome method, cut a little hole in the top of the cupcake and fill with a teaspoon of the mixture. Cover back up.

When you have filled all your cupcakes, it is now time to make icing!

I added a few cups of icing sugar and a few tablespoons of soy milk to the chocolate mixture and mixed until I got the consistency I wanted. I added a tablespoon of cocoa to give it an extra chocolate kick, and then iced. In hindsight I would have made a little bit of extra icing! But thats just me, I love icing!

You cant quite see the chocolate goo – but it is in there! Thanks to Joy for sharing a great recipe!

One response to “Triple chocolate cupcakes

  1. Looks delicious… I’ve been looking for variations of easy chocolate cupcake, thx for sharing.. The chocolate goo must have made it even yummier!!

Leave a Reply

