Cookbook Challenge – Week 15 – Muffins

Ahh muffins. I think of them as the poor cousin of a cupcake. I only really  make muffins if I am trying to be “healthy” (theyre so not healthy) and I am using it as an excuse to eat cake for breakfast.

I let the boy choose this weeks recipe. I was tossing up between these and a sweet pecan and date muffin. He is not big on sweets and therefore chose this recipe, Tomato and Basil muffins. And you know what? I am SO glad I listened to him. These were delicious. Moist, full of flavour and a little bit different. The only change I would make would be perhaps to add a sprinkling of feta to the mixture to make them perfect.

 (My art shot! hehe)

 

Recipe:  Tomato and Basil muffins
Cookbook: 500 cupcakes by Connolly Fergal (from my collection of cupcake kitsch books that I always get and never use!)

Tomato and basil muffins

2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
320g plain flour
2 tbsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
4 lightly beaten eggs
125ml olive oil
320g condensed tomato soup
3 tbsp sundried tomatoes

Preheat oven to 175C. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin

In a medium bowl mix the basil, flour, baking powder and salt with a spoon.

In a large bowl combine eggs, olive oil, soup and sundried tomatoes with  an electric whisk until well combined. Mix the flour mixture into the soup mixture until just combined. Spoon the mixture into the prepared tin. Bake for 20 minutes.

Remove tin from oven and cool for 5 minutes. Remove the muffins and cool on a rack. Serve warm.

Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days. Or freeze for up to 3 months.

And I totally ate them like this for dinner. The boy thought I was nuts. But it was tomato flavoured cous cous with roasted veggies and it went together wonderfully. I dont care if you all think Im nuts!

9 responses to “Cookbook Challenge – Week 15 – Muffins

  1. Hehee, nice art shot! Look at them all sexy and smoldering in the ray of light 😉

    Eating muffins for dinner… hmmm.. can’t say I’ve ever thought of creating a meal out of them! How creative.

  2. I can have this from my garden pickings. YUM

  3. How interesting to add in the condensed tomato soup! They sound really tasty. They are savoury so you can totally have them as a meal! 🙂

  4. I don’t think you are nuts! I like to make savoury muffins and send them to school with some carrot sticks with Master Five for lunch. Guess what sort he is having next? lol

  5. Oh great, another good savoury muffin recipe! Condensed soup?! How cool, wouldn’t have guessed it would be in there. I love the dinner idea!!

    • The soup really gives a heap of flavour to the muffin which was good. And maybe I am not as crazy as I thought with my muffins for dinner! I figure, I made muffins, now I need dinner = muffin for dinner

  6. Ohh…the sound of adding some fetta sounds delicious, although they sound pretty good as they are

  7. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge w15 (Muffins) | Addictive and consuming

  8. Wow! I would love to start the day with one of these muffins.

Leave a Reply

