Cara’s Amazingly Creamy Pumpkin Penne

I am a bit of a pumpkin freak. I could eat it in every meal and never get sick of it. I constantly lament that we do not have all those fantastic varieties of pumpkin I see on American blogs (oh what I would give to find a spaghetti squash!) so I have to be content with my butternut pumpkin.

I recently came across the Cara’s Cravings blog,  and she is a girl after my own heart! She has so many uses for pumpkin and I am just jealous that she has access to all those crazy pumpkin and squash varieties! (Is it weird to consider growing my own…) and she also tries to make everything as healthy as possible, which is fine by me!

The below recipe was DELICIOUS! I had to leave out the cottage cheese because of my allergy but I substituted by using a touch more pumpkin, goats milk feta cheese and a touch more soy milk. I wasnt expecting this to be so yummy. And bonus points? The boy liked it! The boy who tolerates my crazy pumpkin addiction by limiting me to one pumpkin recipe per week.

I think I will definately be trying out so more of her pumpkin recipes in the near future. (Sorry Ben).

Amazingly Creamy Pumpkin Penne


Ingredients
4 oz penne pasta
2 tsp olive oil
1 small onion, thinly sliced (about 75gm)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
about 2T chopped fresh sage
2 links cooked chicken sausage, sliced (see note)
1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese (1% milk fat)
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup nonfat milk
pinch of nutmeg
5oz torn spinach, thick stems removed
grated parmesan or pecorino romano cheese, optional

Directions
Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-low heat. Add onions and cook gently for about 10-15minutes, until softened and beginning to caramelize. Add garlic, sage, and chicken sausage; continue to saute.

Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions.

In a blender, combine combine pumpkin, cottage cheese, and milk. Blend until no lumps are present. Add to sausage mixture in skillet and continue to cook over low heat. Season to taste with salt and freshly ground pepper, and a pinch of nutmeg.

Drain pasta and return to pot over low heat. Add sausage mixture and baby spinach, and toss together. Cover for a few minutes to let the spinach wilt. Serve with parmesan cheese, if desired.

4 responses to “Cara’s Amazingly Creamy Pumpkin Penne

  1. Glad you liked it and thank you for the kind words!

  2. I FOUND SPAGHETTI SQUASH THIS WEEKEND!!! (yes it deserved caps, I totally snapped one up for myself and I am so excited!!!) I found it at the Abbotsford Convent farmers market (but they rotate each Saturday. Not sure which is next)

    And don’t be jealous. I’ve found pumpkin in far more dishes here in Australia then we ever had at home in Canada (I had a spag squash recipe, but otherwise it was pretty much pumpkin pie and that’s it). I think I’m just as addicted as you. I love pumpkin in everything!

    • oh my gosh! So jealous! I may have to try and check out some of my local farmers markets to see what strange pumpkins they have!

      I think I will have to investigate this pumpkin as a dessert food thing too! glad I am not the only pumpkin nut out there!

  3. Creaminess and pumpkin go so well together don’t they! 😀 What a lovely dish!

Leave a Reply

