Cookbook challenge: Week 16 – Noodles

I used to rock at making noodle dishes. But I dont know… somehow I have forgotten how to cook with them. I love noodles, love eating them when I go out for dinner and wish that I could make them at home more often. But every time I do it is dissapointing.

That is probably the best word to describe this recipe… dissapointing. Ben really liked it, but I could barely finish them. The marinade was so tart and despite all that tang, was lacking flavour. I dont know if it was how I cooked the recipe, or just the recipe itself. But in the end I dumped a bunch of soy sauce on there to try and get rid of that tang and make sure I could eat it for dinner. Still didnt help much.

So people – what tips do you have for cooking yummy yummy noodles!

Recipe: Beef and noodle Salad
Cookbook: AWW Lean food

Beef and noodle salad

400g beef eye fillet steaks
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
250g bean thread noodles (I used vermicelli because I couldnt find bean thread!)
1 large medium red onion, thinly sliced
1 large carrot, sliced thinly
1 lebanese cucumber, seeded and thinly sliced
½ cup loosely packed fresh coriander leaves
¼ cup coarsely chopped thai basil
¼ cup lime juice
¼ cup sweet chilli sauce
2 tablespoons fish sauce 

  1. Combine beef, soy sauce and half the oil in a medium bowl; toss to coat beef in marinade
  2. Meanwhile, place noodles in large heatproof bowl, cover with boiling water. Stand until just tender, drain. Rinse under cold water, drain.
  3. Combine noodles in a large bowl with onion, carrot, cucumber, and herbs. Combine juice, sauces and remaining oil in a small jug.
  4. Drain beef, discard marinade. Cook beef in heated, lightly oiled medium non-stick frying pan until browned both sides and cooked as desired. Cover, stand for 10 minutes and then slice thinly. Add beef and dressing to salad. Toss gently to combine. Serve with lime wedges if desired.
4 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 16 – Noodles

  1. Yum! I love noodles/pastas of any kind.

  2. Thanks for being honest about what you thought about them. I’m not a huge tart flavour lover myself so it’s good to know 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W16 (Noodle) Mee Siam | Addictive and consuming

  4. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 16 Noodles theme round up

Leave a Reply

