Jam doughnut cupcakes

I must admit, I’ve made these before. But they are quite yummy! I actually whipped these up on a whim to pad out a cupcake offering I was bringing to a party so they werent the greatest looking cupcake I had ever made… but they still tasted good! I do prefer them though in the original recipe (as below), rather than iced as I changed them to.

Ingredients

  • 300g (2 cups) self-raising flour
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar, plus 1/2 cup extra to coat
  • 80ml (1/3 cup) vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 175ml buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tsp good-quality strawberry jam
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon //

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C and grease a 6-hole muffin pan.
  2. Sift the flour into a medium bowl, then add a pinch of salt and the caster sugar. In a jug, combine the vegetable oil, egg, buttermilk and vanilla extract. Add to the dry mixture and stir to only just combine. Place a spoonful of the mixture in each muffin hole and make an indent in the centre. Fill each indent with a generous 1/2 teaspoon of strawberry jam. Cover the jam with the remaining muffin mixture and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool slightly.
  3. Meanwhile, melt the butter. Combine the extra sugar and the cinnamon in a large bowl. When the muffins are cool enough to handle, brush each muffin with the melted butter, then roll in the cinnamon sugar. Serve while still a little warm.

Source

delicious. – July 2002

 

3 responses to “Jam doughnut cupcakes

  1. I love these cupcakes, I think they call them jam donut muffins but calling them cupcakes sounds better! 😉

  2. Yum! I love jam doughnut cupcakes. I should really whip up another batch soon!

  3. Ooo, I like the idea of these, sugar crusted cupcakes. No deep fryer necessary. Although yours are very pretty as well ;p

Leave a Reply

