Cookbook challenge – week 17 – Vietnamese

I’ll start this off by saying that I know technically spring rolls probably arent Vietnamese – I think traditionally they are a chinese dish. But my Mum has a lot of Vietnamese friends and my memories of lunches and dinners at their place involve spring rolls – in particular how all the women get together to roll them and cook them up (and also how they try to feed you!)

So I was keen to tackle spring rolls for this weeks challenge – I have never made them myself before and now having done so, I dont know what I was waiting for! My technique still needs quite a bit of work, but I think I did OK for a first timer! Oh and they tasted fantastic too!

Theme: Vietnamese
Cookbook: AWW How to cook everything

Spring rolls 

20g rice vermicelli noodles
100g cooked king prawns (Omitted. I hate prawns!)
2 teaspoons peanut oil
100g pork mince
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 fresh small red thai chilli, crushed
1 green onion, chopped finely
1 small carrot, grated finely
1 teaspoon finely chopped coriander
1 teaspoon fish sauce
1 teaspoon cornflour
2 teaspoons water
12 x 12cm square spring roll wrappers
Vegetable oil, for deep frying 

  1. Place noodles in a small, heatproof bowl; cover with boiling water. Stand until just tender, drain. Using kitchen scissors, cut noodles into random lengths
  2. Shell and devain prawns, chop finely.
  3. Heat oil in wok, stir fry pork, garlic and chilli until pork is changed in colour. Add onion, carrot, coriander, fish sauce and prawns, stir fry until vegetables just soften. Place mixture into a small bowl with noodles, cool 10 minutes.
  4. Blend cornflour with water in small bowl. Place 1 level tablespoon of filling near one corner of each wrapper. Lightly brush edges of each wrapper with cornflour mixture, roll to enclose filling, folding in ends.
  5. Just before serving, heat vegetable oil in wok; deep fry spring rolls in batches until golden. Drain on absorbent paper; serve with dipping sauce.

This also comes with a cucumber dipping sauce recipe, but I couldn’t be bothered with that! Some soy and sweet chilli worked fine for me. I look forward to making these again!

I also tackled a coconut creme caramel – come back tomorrow to check it out!

5 responses to “Cookbook challenge – week 17 – Vietnamese

  1. Oh you don’t like prawns? I wish I didn’t but I gobble them up like there’s no tomorrow 😛 The Vietnamese spring rolls are nice and super crunchy aren’t they! I’ve seen them sometimes made with rice paper 🙂

    • nope never been a big fan of prawns – happened about the same time I heard about the poo trail in them! they were super crunchy – i really love the wonton wrappers too – so easy to work with!

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Challenge W17 (Vietnamese) Caramelised fish with pineapple | Addictive and consuming

  3. Your technique looks good to me as these look wonderful and crispy. I love the light shining on them too in your photo..very cute.

  4. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 17 Vietnamese theme round up

Leave a Reply

