Product review: Whisk and Pin Deep Chocolate and Raspberry Muffin Mix

Most people around me know that I love to cook – so at Christmas time last year, many of the corporate gifts I received were food based. One of the packs had this cute little muffin mix from Whisk and Pin, from the Blue Mountains in NSW. I finally got around to making them up this week, when Ben was having a friend over to watch the soccer mid week. I couldn’t be bothered making anything from scratch, given I am in the middle of a hugely busy week, so this seemed like the perfect time.

The mix was easy to do – add some eggs, milk and oil and stir. I got 8 very big muffins out of the mix, but given that they rose quite a bit you could do smaller ones and get 10-12. It said to bake for 25 minutes, but after 15 minutes I felt they were done (and a little black on the top – couldn’t taste it though!)

I wasn’t overly convinced on the taste of these – my sneaky licks of the mixture didnt leave me with that “yum” taste. It was just OK. But once baked, the taste was quite nice.

One thing I didn’t like as much was the little raspberry seeds – they keep getting stuck in my teeth! The raspberry flavour wasnt that strong, so I felt it could have been left out to just be a chocolate muffin. But I did like the big chunks of chocolate, they melted perfectly into the muffins and every now and then you come across a pocket of that deliciousness.

Ben REALLY liked these – something I think that can be attributed to the fact that they are sweet but not overpoweringly so.

So all in all, a really good muffin mix that tastes very home made! I have a scone mixture from them to try out next, so lets see when I get around to that!

In other news:

My teeny tiny magnolia tree has grown his first flower! I planted him when we first moved in and he has not grown up our out or seemed to do much of anything since then, so I was quite excited to see this flower! (Sadly though, some punk teenager ripped a bunch of leaves off this tiny tree over the weekend, so I am not sure his long term chances of survival given this poor treatment so early in his life!)

3 responses to “Product review: Whisk and Pin Deep Chocolate and Raspberry Muffin Mix

  1. I feel your excitement over the flower. My frangipani flowered this week for the first time since I bought it about 4 years ago, thats right its been so long I cant remember exactly when it was & even worse I thought it had white flowers, turns out they’re pink! Let’s hope it likes its new spot & gets bigger & better from here, ditto on your magnolia

  2. Damn punk teenagers!! Or perhaps s/he was actually an expert gardener and was merely pruning your magnolia to accelerate its growth? 😉 Either way, hopefully your magnolia lives to flower another flower!

Leave a Reply

