Lamb and pumpkin risotto

Ok so ignoring the fact that this picture totally reminds me of brains, this was a seriously YUMMY risotto.

I saw the recipe on Cara’s Cravings blog and thought that the recipe was a little unusual – minced lamb in a risotto? But it had the keyword: Pumpkin – and that totally sold me.

The result was a really delicious. There was a sweetness to the risotto, but the lamb and rosemary pair together so well and the balsamic cuts through the sweetness just enough to balance it all out. I definitely enjoyed this! And will likely be making it again! 

Lamb and Pumpkin Risotto with Rosemary and Balsamic Reduction
8 oz lamb leg, trimmed of visible fat, cubed, and ground in food processor (I just used 500g minced lamb. Not sure if that equals anything near 80z, but its what the supermarket had!)
1/2 cup chopped onion
3/4 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup dry white wine (skipped! I love wine in a risotto, but given that so many white wines contain dairy traces, I usually have to buy an expensive bottle to get an untainted wine, and I hate to waste it! I just added a half a cup extra of stock)
2 1/2 cups fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup grated pecorino romano cheese (used goats milk feta instead)
1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
balsamic vinegar reduction* (I had a bottle of balsamic that I just drizzled on instead of making it)

In a medium saucepan, bring the broth to a simmer. Cover the broth and keep warm over low heat.
In a large heavy saucepan coated with cooking spray, brown lamb over medium heat for a few minutes. Add the onion, and saute until tender, scraping up the browned bits on the bottom of the pan, about 8 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add the rice and stir to coat. Add the wine and simmer until the wine has almost completely evaporated, about 1 minute. Add 1/2 cup of simmering broth and stir until almost completely absorbed, about 2 minutes. Continue cooking the rice, adding the broth 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly and allowing each addition of broth to absorb before adding the next, until the rice is tender and creamy, about 25 to 30 minutes total. Remove from the heat. Stir in pumpkin, cheese, and rosemary. Transfer to bowls and drizzle with balsamic vinegar reduction. 2 servings. (I got 4 servings… but that may have been because of the extra meat)

(The only thing I did extra was to use the tip from the last pumpkin risotto I made, and did not stir it, but rather just agitated it by shaking the pan. I dont know why, but this totally works to help make the rice creamier.)

3 responses to “Lamb and pumpkin risotto

  1. Yum, I love pumpkin in risotto. I hardly ever make risotto tho because I’m too lazy to stand there and stir it for thirty mins, hehee.

    And since I read your comment about it looking like brains…. that is all I can see!

  2. Oh heavens, brain? I’m going to rejigger my mind and see the risotto as more like pumpkin pudding with a maple syrup drizzle…

    Either way, it looks deliciously creamy – and I’m going to steal that shaken-not-stirred tip next time I make risotto!

Leave a Reply

