Cookbook challenge – Week 23 – Leaf

Leaf week really had me stumped… I literally had NO clue what to do. At first I thought I would be adventurous, try out something thats cooked with a banana leaf – but then I realised I had no idea where to buy anything like that since I have moved out to the burbs.

So I flipped frantically through my various cookbooks (note to self: buy more cookbooks) hoping that something, ANYTHING, would jump out.

Thankfully, on my way through Stephanie Alexanders Cooks Companion, I spotted it. Middle Eastern Meatballs with Coriander Leaves.

They were super simple to whip up (thankfully… I had gotten home late from the gym and was worrying we wouldn’t be eating until 9pm!) and while these are probably best served as a finger food at a party, I served it up with some rice, vegies and some gravy.

The strong coriander flavour in these really helps to make them moist little meatballs and the lamb flavour wasnt as strong as your typical meatball – something I quite liked.

Not sure if I would make them again, but I did enjoy eating them!

Middle eastern Meatballs with coriander leaves
From Stephanie Alexander’s Cooks Companion

500g finely minced lamb or beef
Pinch of salt
1 onion, finely chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground allspice
Pinch cayenne pepper
1 cup coarsely chopped coriander leaves
Olive oil

 Blend all ingredients, except the oil, in a food processor until smooth and pasty.

Wet your hands to stop mixture sticking and form small balls.

Heat oil in frypan and brown meatballs. Test tiny meatballs after 5 minutes – larger ones may take 10 minutes.

Drain well on kitchen paper. The meatballs can be partially cooked and finished in the oven when required.

3 responses to “Cookbook challenge – Week 23 – Leaf

  1. Oooh meatballs! Everything tastes better in a ball and on a skewer! I love coriander – these sound delicious.

  2. I love the sound of adding the coriander to the lamb – nice touch. I also agree with Agnes – anything on a skewer is a winner!

  3. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 23 Leaf theme round up

Leave a Reply

