Cookbook challenge – week 24 – Chocolate!

I have been counting down to chocolate week for quite a few weeks now! And as my Cookbook challenge posts have gotten less, well, challenging, I have been really keen to try out something I have never made before with chocolate. Because as far as ingredients go, I am pretty down with chocolate. We are old friends from way back and I know no matter how I cook it, it usually turns out OK. And if all goes horribly wrong, at the very least you can lick the bowl because the mixture has chocolate in it.

Initially I had plans to tackle one of the Masterchef cookbook dessert recipes – but all of them involve cream and really, there is no decent dairy-free cream substitute. So I settled on a few recipes and asked the boy what he thought, and wouldn’t you know, he wanted me to make choc chip shortbread. How BORING! So we compromised, I’d still make the shortbread but I would also try something I had been keen – yet scared to make. Chocolate Souffle.

You know what though? The damn thing is so easy to make. The only issue with the recipe that I made was that the cooking time was a bit off… they looked perfect until I put a spoon into them and they were still runny on the inside – and that was after going over the cooking time by 2 minutes.

See? But that said, the outsides were cooked through, just the inside part. So next time I will up the cooking time a little more to cook the whole way through. But, I am still totally excited that the souffle rose, because everyone talks about how hard souffles are. And despite its runny centre, it did not deflate. So next time, I am sure it will be a big huge souffle win. This is dangerous knowledge for a chocolate addict.

Gordon Ramsays Chocolate Souffle (From the F word tv show)

Ingredients

For the dishes

  • 25 g unsalted butter for greasing
  • finely grated Chocolate

Crème pâtissière

  • 20 g Cornflour
  • 200 ml Milk
  • 200 g Dark Chocolate 70% cocoa solids, chopped
  • 80 g egg yolks

Egg white mixture

  • 200 g egg whites
  • 150 g caster sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder for decoration

Method

For the dishes

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C/gas 4.
  2. Brush 8 ramekins (8cm in width, 4-5cm in height) with the softened butter in upward strokes, from the base to the rim. Chill the dishes for 5 minutes, then as an insurance policy so the soufflé doesn’t stick to the dish, apply a second coat as before.
  3. Sprinkle a little grated chocolate into each dish, tilting and rolling the dishes around to line them with an even layer of chocolate.

Crème pâtissière

  1. For the crème pâtissière, slake the corn flour with a little of the milk, then gradually add the rest of the milk until you have a smooth mixture. Pour into a small pan, and slowly bring to the boil, stirring continuously. Boil for 30 seconds then off the heat, add the chocolate and whisk until smooth. Beat in the egg yolks until smooth before transferring to a bowl to cool.

Egg white mixture

  1. In an artisan mixer, whisk the egg whites to soft peaks. Gradually start to add in the sugar, whisking well in between each addition. Once all the sugar has been added, continue to whisk until you have a thick and glossy mixture.
  2. Add one third of the egg whites into the chocolate crème patisserie mixture and mix well. Now add in the remaining egg white and gently fold into the mix. Do not over work the mixture as it will become too hard and stiff.
  3. Divide the mixture between the ramekins. Level the surface with a palate knife then bake for 6-8 minutes, or until well risen and with a slightly wobbly centre. Remove from the oven and dust with the remaining cocoa powder. Serve immediately with a scoop of mint chocolate chip ice cream.
5 responses to “Cookbook challenge – week 24 – Chocolate!

  1. Fantastic, I’m making a souffle too & only hope mine work as well. I have exactly the same feelings as you & once attempted quite a complicated one which was a bit of a disaster so I’m hoping keeping it simple will do the trick

    • good luck with the souffle! I am sure it will turn out fantastically! The double layer of butter and liberal spread of caster sugar around the edge of the ramekins really helped mine to rise up.

  2. Yes good job getting it to rise! I remembering hearing that you can’t make any noise around souffles and all of those superstitions and I recall being very scared of them! Haha! 😛

    • I was patiently hovering around the oven and trying not to open the oven door until it was time… but then I remembered thats mostly a myth these days because our ovens hold their heat quite well.

  3. Those biscuits look delicious, and the fact you managed two recipes is fantastic. Well done!

Leave a Reply

