Cookbook challenge: Week 29 – Blue

Blue week! And I just couldn’t go past my favourite berry: blueberry! And with no real excuse to bake a blueberry pie of any kind, I settled on blueberry pancakes.

And boy oh boy am I glad I did! These little babies were sweet and the perfect Sunday breakfast. In fact, the boy made me get up far earlier than I would have liked because he was so excited for pancakes.

I had to use frozen blueberries because I was not going to pay $10 for a very sad looking punnet of blueberries but it certainly didn’t impact on the flavour of these berries at all. I folded my blueberries through the pancake mixture because I wanted every bite of the pancakes to have some blueberry flavour. I served them with sugar and a slice of lemon -yum!

Blueberry Pancakes
Adapted from Julie Goodwin’s My Kitchen Table

1 cup self raising flour
¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
¼ cup caster sugar
1 ¼ cup buttermilk
1 egg
Olive oil cooking spray
1 punnet of blueberries

 To make the pancakes sift the flour, bicarb soda into a bowl and stir in the sugar. Make a well in the centre. Whisk the buttermilk and egg together and stir gently into the flour mixture. When mixture is smooth, sprinkle in blueberries. 

Heat the frypan over medium-low heat and spray with oil. Pour ¼ cup batter into the pan and swirl around. Cook for 2 minutes or until bubbles form on the surface. Turn and cook for a further 1 minute or until cooked through. Repeat with remaining mixture.

3 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 29 – Blue

  1. Oh you saw the same blueberries that I did! When did they get to $9.99? Horrifying really 😦 On the other hand, these pancakes look great!

  2. Pingback: The Cookbook Challenge: Week 29 Blue theme round up

Leave a Reply

