Cookbook challenge – Week 33 – seafood

Confession time – I don’t cook seafood. I barely eat it (occasional serving of fish and chips or calamari aside) and the boy, well he HATES seafood. Sure, we eat fish and chips, but for some reason he thought that me cooking it at home would make it taste differently.

While in Fiji, he had said that he should start to try eating more seafood – that perhaps his tastes had changed over the years. So I thought that  seafood week would be a breeze – I would pick a type of fish, make it and he would like it or not. But nope, he wanted nothing to do with fish!

We compromised – I would make beer battered fish and chips and he would try to keep an open mind.

Well… he ate it. Now I will say, my fish and chips tasted exactly like fish and chips usually does – and it didnt have a hugely strong beer taste, the chips were crunchy and salty and all that good thing. But the boy has a thing about fish, and well, he just couldn’t enjoy it. So I dont think I will be pushing cooking any further dishes with fish in the future.

This is a very good recipe for fish and chips though!

Fish and Chips
From Julie Godwin, Our Family Table

Vegetable oil for deep frying
1kg Pontiac potatoes
Salt, to taste
1 ½ cups plain flour
375ml cold beer
2 tsp salt
½ cup plain flour, extra
Salt and white pepper
8 100g boneless white fish fillets
1 quantity of tartare sauce
Lemon wedges, to serve 

  1. Preheat oven to 100C (80C Fan forced). Fill a deep fryer to the recommended level with a clean vegetable oil and heat it to 160C. Alternatively, half fill a large pan and use a kitchen thermometer for temperature.
  2. Peel the potatoes and cut them into 1cm thick chips. Fry for about 8 minutes or until they are pale golden colour, then remove them from the oil and drain them in a colander.
  3. Increase the temperature of the oil to 190C then fry the chips a second time, for 6 – 8 minutes or until golden brown and crisp. Drain and sprinkle with salt then place on an oven tray lined with non-stick bake paper to keep warm while you cook the fish.
  4. Place the flour, beer and salt into a bowl and stir until combined. In a shallow dish season the extra plain flour with salt and pepper. Coat the fillets in flour, then carefully dip them into the batter. Allow the excess batter to drain off then lay each fillet gently and directly into the hot oil. (Don’t put it in the basket then lower into the oil as the batter will get stuck.) you should be able to cook 3 – 4 fillets at a time. Cook for around 4 minutes or until they are golden brown and crisp. Drain on paper towels and sprinkle with salt. Put the fish in the oven with the chips while waiting for further batches.
  5. Serve hot with tartare sauce and lemon wedges.
8 responses to “Cookbook challenge – Week 33 – seafood

  1. Good idea doing plain fish and chips. Even when I didn’t like fish when I was small I’d gobble up fish and chips! They look great! 🙂

  2. They look exactly like store bought fish and chips, great job!! But now I feeling like fish and chips… I am going to have no waist line left soon with all this yummy food. I know what my kids would have preferred me to cook for the seafood challenge 🙂

  3. I’m just in awe of you for deep-frying at home! That’s about two lightyears beyond my level of kitchen bravery 😀

    • hehe I would give it a go! Wasnt that hard, although the amount of oil used is just sickening!! My parents have their own deep frying machine – that is a bit much for me!

  4. Oh no! The Boy doesn’t like seafood? That is so sad. At least he ate your fish and chips – they look fantastic btw.

  5. boo to your boy! It was probably just all in his head!

    my boy isn’t that into seafood, but I know I can serve him prawns and tinned tuna…I’ll have to see what else I can feed him 😉

    good work on still going ahead with f+cs though!

    • I agree – definately all in his head! But when you dont grow up eating something and have it forced onto you, you do go into that “ick” mind set.

      I had my first set of prawns in years at a wedding recently and I really loved them! So I will have to start experimenting with them more 🙂

Leave a Reply

