Cold night cure: Brownie pudding

It has been so cold lately. And one thing I am not the hugest fan of is cold! Anything below 27 degrees and I will usually be found with a jacket on and telling you it is chilly!

But a good chocolate pudding always makes the cold nights just a touch warmer! Ever since I discovered how easy it is to make a self saucing chocolate pudding last year, well, let’s just say that my waist line has not been happy with me. And given my dairy allergy, the fact that it only uses cocoa makes it even better!

Recently though, I saw a new kind of pudding over at the blog, Annie’s Eats. Brownie Pudding. I HAD to give it a go. And my sister’s recent birthday gave me the perfect excuse to try it out. My gosh… it was the perfect mixture of gooey, chewy and so so chocolatey! Of course, I didn’t want to serve up a dud of a recipe for my sister, so I had to make extra and “try it out” the night before.

Sorry about my dodgy photos – I guess I must have been so excited to eat this that I didn’t realise they were so blurry!

Brownie Pudding

via Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:
½ lb. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing the dish (1 cup of butter – or nutellex in my case!)
4 large eggs, at room temperature
2 cups sugar
¾ cup cocoa powder
½ cup all-purpose flour
1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise (I used vanilla bean paste)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325˚ F. (170C)  Lightly butter a 2-quart (2 litre) oval baking dish.  Melt the 2 sticks of butter and set aside to cool.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the eggs and sugar.  Beat together on medium-high speed until thick and light yellow in color.  Meanwhile, combine the flour and cocoa powder in a medium bowl and whisk together until blended.

When the eggs and sugar are finished mixing, scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the mixing bowl.  Add the flour-cocoa powder mixture to the bowl as well.  Mix on low speed just until combined.  With the mixer still on low, slowly pour the melted butter and mix again just until combined.

Pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish.  Place the baking dish in a larger baking pan.  Add very hot tap water to the outer baking pan to create a water bath, coming halfway up the side of the baking dish.  Bake for 60 minutes.  The center will appear very under-baked, that is the way the dessert should be.  Allow to cool slightly before serving with ice cream.

Source: adapted from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics by Ina Garten

2 responses to “Cold night cure: Brownie pudding

  1. Oh my… this is heaven in a bowl. I wonder if I could just eat it straight from the tray? 😛

Leave a Reply

