Cookie Dough Cupcakes

We held a dinner party on Saturday night and amongst that group of friends, well it is fair to say that at least one in each couple is a foodie. The dinner party before us had made their own sausages. THEIR OWN SAUSAGES! How do you compete with that?

I ended up making spring rolls, massaman curry and these… cookie dough cupcakes. Sure, they don’t really go with the thai inspired theme I had going on… but I had been wanting to make these for SO long that I just had to do it.

They might be a lot of work, but boy oh boy, were they worth it. I am extremely embarassed to tell you just how many of these I actually ate… but let’s just say, I actually gained a kilo this week. Bad move! But I just couldn’t help it. So good.

The fantastic recipe idea came from Annie’s Eats, although I modified the cookie recipe and the icing to suit my diet and for me it worked out really well.

I guess I should tell you that my favourite thing in the world is actually cookie dough… I am a nut for it. Back in the days when I could eat what I wanted, well, lets just say we used to visit Coldrock Icecreamery way too much and I would ALWAYS get cookies and cream icecream, with cookie dough chopped up in it, and hot fudge. Pure bliss. I didn’t realise just how much I was missing my cookie dough until this! And with a roll of cookie dough now freezing in my freezer… temptation has been very high to eat it.

These cupcakes were very well received. At first I was worried I was the only one who would like them. Ben ate one the night before the dinner party and didn’t say anything much. But the next night I heard him telling the guests how these were the best cupcakes he had ever had. Thankfully, they all liked them. They are extremely rich, but one guest even managed to make it through two cupcakes!

I say, make them!

Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Crispy, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (mine was chopped up allergy free chocolate)

1. Preheat the oven to 325??F (165??C). Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

2. Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside. In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.

3. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended.

4. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time (for giant cookies) or a tablespoon at a time (for smaller cookies) onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart.

5. Bake larger cookies for 15 to 17 minutes, or 10 to 12 minutes for smaller ones (check your cookies before they???re done; depending on your scoop size, your baking time will vary) in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

6. If you are putting batter inside your cupcake, roll 24 teaspoon sized cookie dough balls up and freeze for at least an hour.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes
Ingredients:
For the cupcakes:
1 ?? cups unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar, packed
4 large eggs
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
?? ??tsp. salt
1 cup milk (I used soy)
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips (semisweet or bittersweet) (I omitted these and just made my cupcakes brown sugar flavoured)

Directions:
To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 170C. Line two cupcake pans with paper liners (24 total). In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and brown sugar. Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Mix in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Stir together to blend. Add the dry ingredients to the mixer bowl on low speed, alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients, mixing each addition just until incorporated. Blend in the vanilla. Fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula. (I skipped this part)

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared cupcake liners. (Annie suggests cooking the cupcakes then using the cone??method to fill the cupcakes with cookie dough.??I instead froze my cookie dough balls and then cooked the cupcakes. Because they are frozen, the cookie dough doesnt cook through.) ??Place a small ball of cookie dough on top of the batter.

??Bake for 18-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Make frosting. I use a similar one to this.

6 responses to “Cookie Dough Cupcakes

  1. I didn’t know this kind of thing was allowed. I’m in big trouble. And so are my co-workers because they’ll get the lion’s share of these when I make them. YUM!

  2. What a great idea! Combining two of my favourite things ever! 😀

  3. I can’t believe how clever you are!! I never would have imagined a cupcake like that!!

  4. Oh. My. Goodness!

    Possibly the naughtiest thing I’ve ever wanted to make…

    What an evil genius you are! Thanks for sharing…I think 😉

  5. Oh my…. these must be made at my place… stat!!

Leave a Reply

