Do you like pina coladas?

What about getting caught in the rain? OK enough of that… I have had the song in my head all weekend!

The boy very kindly volunteered us to host Father’s Day afternoon tea for his family and so I had been wracking my brain trying to think of an appropriate dessert given that they aren’t huge on sweets. Thankfully, just as the stress began to set in (Friday afternoon, when I should have been working!) inspiration hit me! Pina colada cupcakes! My father in law was obsessed with these when we were in Fiji and so I knew that at least he would like them!

I scoured the internet for an appropriate recipe and there are so many out there! Most seemed to do theirs with a coconut cake and pineapple frosting, which I thought was a tad strange given that is the opposite of the layering of the actual cocktail but I went with it. I found a wonderful recipe on The Desserts for Breakfast blog and promptly set about making them.

The coconut cake part was excellent – I was slightly worried as they were cooking… the inside stayed so moist it was hard to determine when they were done. But that moist coconut flavour definately packed a punch when you ate it!

The pineapple icing I wasn’t as in love with. It didn’t have the flavour I was really after. That said – I had to use canned pineapple because me and fresh pineapple are not friends. Last time I attempted to cut a pineapple, well, I ended up cutting myself. Perhaps that is why instead of a really pineappley flavour, I got a very mild one. I even pretty much doubled the quantity of pineapple puree to no avail!

That said, they were very yummy and not a heavy cupcake at all. I don’t know if I would make these again, I much prefer chocolate based cupcakes over fruit ones, but they were certainly appreciated by the family!

Coconut cupcakes
From Desserts for Breakfast
makes about 36 cupcakes (I halved this and only got 12 cupcakes)

180 grams egg whites (~6 eggs)
1/3 cup coconut milk
1 1/2 tspn vanilla extract
1 1/2 tspn coconut extract
400 grams flour
2 Tbspn baking powder (if making a cake instead of cupcakes, decrease this amount to 5 tspn)
1 tspn salt
2 sticks butter, at room temperature (1 cup)
375 grams sugar
1 cup coconut milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (175C)
2. In a bowl, whisk together egg whites.  Add 1/3 cup coconut milk, vanilla extract, and coconut extract.  Whisk to combine.  Set aside.
3. In another bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.
4. Place butter in a mixer bowl.  Beat on low for 2-3 minutes until fluffy.
5. Gradually add sugar to the butter and beat for 1-2 minutes until light and fluffy.
6. Add 1 cup coconut milk to the butter and sugar mixture.  Beat until combined.
7. In three parts, alternate adding the dry and wet ingredients to the batter.  Beat thoroughly between each addition.
8. Spoon or pipe batter into cupcake molds, filling the molds about halfway.
9. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cupcake comes out clean.  (For mini-cupcakes, bake 15 minutes.)
10. Remove from oven and let cool on a rack.

Fresh pineapple puree

1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1 medium-large pineapple, peeled, cored, and chopped

1. In a saucepan over medium heat, cook the sugar and water without stirring until the mixture comes to a boil.
2. Add the pineapple to the boiling sugar water and return to a complete rolling boil, without stirring.
3. Remove from heat and cover the pot with a lid.  Let cool overnight.
4. Once cooled, drain the liquid from the pineapple.  Save the syrup for other uses.
5. Put the pineapple in a food processor and process until completely pureed with no chunks.  You will need 1/2 cup of this pineapple puree for the buttercream.  Save the rest for eating on its own or other uses.

Pineapple Italian Meringue Buttercream

11 oz. sugar (310g)
5 oz. water (140g)
150 grams egg whites
65 grams sugar
1 lb. (4 sticks) butter, at room temperature (2 cups)
1/2 cup fresh pineapple puree
2 Tbspn rum or tequila, optional
shredded coconut, optional
sprinkles, optional

1. Combine water and 11 oz. sugar in a small pot over medium-high heat.  Without stirring, bring to a boil and let cook until the temperature reaches 240 degrees F.
2. Meanwhile, place the egg whites in a mixer bowl. With the whisk attachment, begin whisking the egg whites when the syrup cooking on the stove reaches 220 degrees F.  Start whisking on low until the whites begin to foam, then increase speed to high and gradually add the remainder of the sugar.  Whip until soft peaks.
3. Once the syrup has reached 240 degrees F (soft ball stage) and the whites have been whipped to soft peaks, gradually pour the syrup in a small stream into the egg whites, whisking on medium high continuously.  Be careful not to allow the sugar syrup to fall on the beaters.
4. Continue whisking until the bowl of the mixer is at body temperature and not warm anymore.
5. Slowly begin to add the butter, about a half tablespoon at a time.
6. Once all of the butter is incorporated, continue whisking while adding the pineapple puree and alcohol, if using. If the mixture looks curdled, keep whisking until consistency is restored.
7. Spread or pipe onto cupcakes when complete, top with shredded coconut and sprinkles, if desired.

13 responses to “Do you like pina coladas?

  1. Thanks for the recipe. It sounds awesome!

  2. Even if the pineapple buttercream wasn’t as tasty as you hoped, these still look divine (and divinely) cute. And the most important thing is that everyone else loved them 🙂

  3. HI and thanks for stopping by my blog! I haven’t made this frosting before, but I have masses of leftover italian meringue leftover every week, so I’ll give it a try. Can you have any lactose or are you allergic to the casien?

    • hey there! I think the pineapple puree would work just as well in the italian meringue too!

      I am allergic to cows milk specifically, so I can still enjoy goats and sheeps milk products (thankfully!) I believe it is due to a protein in the cow being too big for my body to break down, but as the sheep and goat are smaller they are fine to digest.

  4. Mmm they look great! But I must take issue for now I have that song in my head-haha! 😛

  5. Lady. Your talking my language here…. Desserts for Breakfast & to top it off with these tempting little numbers well then…
    I do like the Buttercream mix, its different.
    Cheers Anna
    PS: Thanks for stopping by my blog too, its great to meet you 🙂

  6. Sounds very nice… but now I am singing along too! Curse it!

  7. damn it, now I’m singing it!
    cute way of serving!! looks soooo good.

  8. Great post, and timely for me because last week I was sitting in the dentist chair having a crown put in and “The Pina Colada Song was playing over their music system. I was torn – I was so uncomfortable but I couldn’t help but hum. What is up with the two people in the song? They try to cheat on each other using the personal ads and when one brings them together unknowingly, they just think it’s cute. There’s some serious relationship issues going on, ya know!

  9. Ooh, zingy pineapple and coconut! Particularly love a recipe that calls for tequila too 🙂
    Lovely blog you have here. It’s nice to meet a fellow Melbournian sugar-addict! I’d love to add your site to my Australian Bakers Blogroll. Can’t wait to see what other sugar-treats appear 🙂

Leave a Reply

