Pizza scrolls

I wanted a simple and quick dish to serve for afternoon tea and my mind instantly went to “pizza scrolls!” I knew everyone would love them, and I even contemplated buying puff pastry to whip them up in a matter of minutes. But I am glad I didn’t because having made the pastry for it, it was nice and thick, filling and much more of a pizza dough consistency.

I made two kinds, a ham and cheese version and a mushroom and feta. I am really into mushrooms at the moment… the boy HATES them but the night before I made these, we had homemade pizza for dinner and I made myself a mushroom, garlic and basil pizza that was DELICIOUS. The craving continued onto my mushroom version of the scrolls and I also snuck some into our pasta this week (Shh… don’t tell the boy!)

It is really good sometimes to get back to basics. My brain is constantly occupied with thoughts of “what can I attempt next?” but I know it can’t be all crazy concoctions… sometimes simple is best. The people around you will appreciate anything you make for them because you made it yourself!

Pizza Scrolls??

Ingredients

  • 300g (2 cups) self-raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 90g butter, cut into cubes
  • 160ml (2/3 cup) milk
  • Plain flour, to dust
  • 60g (1/4 cup) pizza sauce
  • 80g (1 cup) coarsely grated cheddar
  • 150g sliced leg ham, coarsely chopped
  • Extra milk, to brush
??Method
  1. Preheat oven to 210??C. Line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper. Sift the flour and salt into a large bowl. Use your fingertips to rub the butter into the flour until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add the milk. Use a round-bladed knife in a cutting motion to mix until evenly incorporated and the mixture begins to hold together.
  2. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and gently knead until smooth. Use a lightly floured rolling pin to roll out the dough into a 30 x 40cm rectangle.
  3. Spread the pizza sauce evenly over the dough, leaving a 2cm border around the edge. Sprinkle with the cheddar and??ham. (Or whatever concoction you have decided to use!) Starting from a long side, roll up firmly to form a log. Brush the edge with a little extra milk and press down firmly to seal the log. Cut crossways into 12 equal portions, about 3cm thick. Place scrolls on the prepared tray. Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown. (Mine took maybe 15 minutes?)??Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

3 responses to “Pizza scrolls

  1. Brilliance! They look soooo goood as I sit here at my office in the blazing Southern California heat at 4:45 in the late afternoon. If only it were 20 degrees cooler (our high was 113, I believe), then I would go home and make these babies happen. Maybe I’ll save for the weekend. Thanks for posting!

  2. YES PLEASE!!! *saving this recipe for a weekend :)*

Leave a Reply

