Cookbook challenge – Week 44 – Chinese

I am so far behind on my cookbook challenge! Weeks have been skipped and posting is behind. Whoops!

During Week 44 I was concentrating on trying my best to be healthy… I sometimes get a little carried away with this cooking thing and before you know it, far too many cupcakes have been baked and many carbolicious dinners consumed. So I turned to the Women’s Weekly Lean Food Cookbook for my inspiration. And it came in the form of sang choy bow. I love this dish, and have actually made it before, but usually as an entree of finger food option at parties. I was hoping it would be filling enough to count for dinner – and yes it was!

The boy picked a rather wonky looking lettuce, so getting a decent lettuce cup was seriously hard. And the result was a touch messier, but it didn’t hamper the taste at all! I think I may add these to my healthy rotation of dinners – alongside the salad and poached chicken.

Sang choy bow
Via AWW Lean Food

2 teaspoons sesame oil
500g lean pork mince
1 small brown onion, chopped finely
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 cm piece fresh ginger, grated
2 tablespoons water
100g shiitake mushrooms, chopped finely
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon lime juice
2 cups bean sprouts
4 green onions, sliced thinly
¼ cup coarsely chopped coriander
12 large butter lettuce leaves 

  1. Heat oil in wok or large frying pan; stir fry pork, brown onion, garlic and ginger until pork is just changed in colour
  2. Add the water, mushrooms, sauces and juice, stir fry until mushrooms are just tender. Remove from heat, add sprouts, green onion and coriander, toss gently to combine.
  3. Divide lettuce leaves amongst serving plates, spoon filling into leaves.
4 responses to “Cookbook challenge – Week 44 – Chinese

  1. ooo sounds like a cookbook I need to get.
    Yay for the cookbook challenge. I’m slowly getting there too 😛
    Looks yum!

  2. I’m with Shellie…., thinking I’d better invest in this cookbook too…, totally relate to the enjoying everything I cook just a little too much. Anyone for 2nd?? and I’m the only one that says…., that’d be nice 😦

  3. I love sang chow bow, it is a regular dish at out house during summer. Yours looks great, love the photos!

Leave a Reply

