Cookbook Challenge – Week 42 – Bird

As a lover of all things poultry, I had high hopes for this week. But, the timing just wasn’t there. I had another recipe I was going to try and make, but again, it was a week of simple, quick dinners. And so, I turned to singapore noodles!

Funnily enough, I have never made this before. Sure, I have eaten my fair share of them, but never made it. That said, I am a pretty lousy chef when it comes to Asian foods… I just don’t have the knack for anything with noodles. This turned out OK – it wasn’t a very traditional Singapore Noodle dish though (given that I left the prawns out!)

Not sure if I would make it again… I love to eat it but not so big on my own version!

Singapore Noodles
Via AWW Chicken Cookbook

450g fresh Singapore noodles
2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 cm piece fresh ginger, grated
1 medium carrot, cut into match sticks
250g cooked, shelled, small prawns
1 tablespoon Malaysian curry powder
3 green onions, sliced thinly
1 ½ cups bean sprouts
2 tablespoons soy sauce
¼ cup kecap manis
3 cups shredded barbeque chicken 

Place noodles in large heatproof bowl; cover with boiling water, separate noodles with a fork; drain.

  1. Meanwhile, heat oil in wok; stir fry garlic, ginger and carrot until carrot is just tender. Add prawn and curry powder; stir fry until prawns change colour.
  2. Add noodles and remaining ingredients; stir fry until hot.
2 responses to “Cookbook Challenge – Week 42 – Bird

  1. Technically, there’s no true ‘Singapore Noodles’.. but that’s a pet peeve story for another time.

    No matter what the name is, this looks delish!

  2. Still need to try this recipe. I go “oooo” everytime I flick to that page

Leave a Reply

