Pop rock cupcake fail

I really wanted to make a Pop Rock cupcake and after a bit of research I discovered that they lose their pop when put in an icing mixture, or cake batter. So I thought I would just sprinkle them on the top before we head out to the party these were making their debut at. But they had lost their pop when we ate them, a mere 2 hours later! So my advice – sprinkle them only on top just as you want to eat them! Or else no pops for you!

Another fail? Pop rocks have lactose! I know right! Who would have thought they would have lactose in them! So I had to have mine without popping goodness.

But, want to know the ONLY redeeming factor of these cupcakes?

Rainbow!!

11 responses to “Pop rock cupcake fail

  1. Oh how pretty! I didn’t realise that pop rocks could lose their pop as well. That’s really interesting and disappointing at the same time.

    It’s been ages since I last had pop rocks – where do you get yours from?

    • embarassingly, I got my pop rocks from a showbag! I bought the boy a warheads showbag and once I realised the pop rocks were in there, I promptly stole them! I think you may still be able to get them from the supermarket – if not surely a good lolly shop has them?

  2. I’m lactose-intolerant, so I was partly cranky when I discovered that about pop rocks! But then I remember that I don’t like popping candy anyway, so it was all good 😉

    These look gorgeous!

  3. What a great idea!!! I love the rainbow colours too!! I thought about topping macaroons with sherbert but I would have had a similiar problem, I still haven’t worked out how to overcome it. I am sure your cakes were yummy!

  4. Aww, it sucks that these didn’t work out as planned. Really love the rainbow colouring you worked in there though. I wonder how pop-rocks keep their pop when used in a recipe? Heston incorporated them in a biscuit base somehow.
    Lolly shop ones were a total fail when I tried, but I’ve seen sachets in a specialty patisserie store. Hmm….

  5. How to keep the pop as things get older? Hmm… I guess we all have that problem eventually!

  6. Oh what a shame about the pop rocks but there is always light at the end of the rainbow 😉

  7. OH NO!!!! BUT they can’t fail!!!

    yay for rainbow though!!

Leave a Reply

