Cookbook Challenge: Week 46 – Cup.

For cup week there was no other option – it was cupcake time! To say I am slightly obsessed with cupcakes is probably an understatement. I like cupcakes better than cakes because people feel less guilty eating one, there is fewer leftovers and I can be far more creative with the flavours!

This is our dining room wall, I call it my cupcake wall and it is gorgeous and makes me smile and reminds me just how much I like cupcakes!

That said, I have made almost every cupcake I care to make out of my cookbooks, so I decided that I would just modify a cupcake to suit my needs… in this instance, a lamington cupcake!

I decided to add a dollop of jam in the middle because those are the lamingtons I prefer, but I also thought that instead of rolling all the sides of the cupcake in the icing, that I would just frost the top so that it stayed true to being a cupcake!

These were really yummy, very appropriate for an afternoon tea and not an overly heavy cupcake. These will be added to my list of cupcakes to make again someday (you know, when I get finished with making every other flavour of cupcake there is!)

Vanilla daisy cupcakes
Modified from Crabapple Cupcakes Cookbook 

2 ¾ cup plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
200g softened unsalted butter
1 ¾ cup caster sugar
4 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup milk
Jam of choice
Desiccated coconut (for frosting)

Preheat oven to 170C. Line two muffin trays with cupcake papers.

Sift together the flour and baking powder. In a separate bowl, cream the butter for 1 – 2 minutes. Add the castor sugar a third at a time, beating for 2 minutes after each addition. After the last addition beat until the mixture is light and fluffy and the sugar has almost dissolved. Add eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition or until mixture is light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract  and beat until combined.

Add a third of the flour to the creamed mixture and beat on low speed until combined. Add half of the milk and beat until combined. Repeat this process. Add the remaining third of the flour and beat until thoroughly combined. Do not overbeat as this will toughen the mixture.

Spoon mixture into cupcake papers, filling about 1/3 full. Place a teaspoon of jam in each cupcake. Cover with mixture until about three quarters full. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a fine skewer inserted comes out clean. Remove cupcakes from the trays immediately and cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes before frosting.

Chocolate buttercream
3 large egg whites, at room temperature
¾ cup sugar
Pinch salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces, at room temperature.
2 tbsp cocoa powder
110 grams semisweet chocolate

In a large, clean heatproof bowl, combine the egg whites and sugar. Set the bowl over (but not touching) simmering water in a saucepan and heat the mixture, whisking constantly, until the sugar has completely dissolved and the mixture is very warm to the touch (about 160F on an instant read thermometer), about 2 minutes. Remove the bowl from the saucepan. Using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg white mixture until it is fluffy, cooled to room temperature and holds stiff peaks, about 6 minutes.

With the mixture on medium-low speed, add the salt and butter a few pieces at a time, beating well after each addition. If the frosting appears to separate or is very liquid after the butter is added, continue to beat on high speed until it is smooth and creamy.

Melt the chocolate and whisk the cocoa powder in. Cool slightly, before adding the flavouring into the frosting mixture and beat until combined.

Frost the cupcakes, then roll in coconut.

7 responses to “Cookbook Challenge: Week 46 – Cup.

  1. Aw, these are gorgeous! I can’t even remember the last time I had lamingtons. Serious nostalgia mixed wth longing right now!

  2. Yum! They look so good with the jam in the middle. How funny, I just finished making cupcakes with the kids today. My daughter is 3, and decided pink cupcakes need to be iced in a fairy dress with wings. I can see us making many more cupcakes, these ones will have to be next.

  3. A lamington Cup Cake….. what a great idea, love the little dollop of jam idea. Cup Cakes are so much fun.

  4. ironchefshellie

    OMG why didn’t I think cupCAKE? errr….
    I love the wall of framed art!

  5. Oh what a great idea! I love the concept and they are so adorable with their little blanket of snow on top 🙂

  6. Hah, I didn’t even consider making cupcakes for cup week! Good job 😀

Leave a Reply

