Cookbook challenge: Week 47 – Italian

Eating out I always gravitate towards thai food, but when I cook myself I love Italian cuisine. The boy could eat bolognese every week and be thoroughly satisfied, particularly if you were to throw in a carbonara here and there as well. But I particularly love the simple Italian dishes. The ones that use few ingredients and taste absolutely delicious.

That is exactly what this recipe is. Simple. It takes no time at all to whip up and is full of flavour.

I will definately be making this again (and hopefully one day I will be making it with my very own fresh pasta… we can all dream!)

Spaghetti with red onions, sun dried tomato, balsamic vinegar and basil
From Jamie Oliver’s Return of the Naked Chef

455g dried spaghetti
1 red onion, peeled and finely chopped
Olive oil
2 handfuls of sun dried tomatoes in oil, chopped
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 handfuls of basil, torn
4 slices of bacon, diced (added for the carnivore of the household)

ย While cooking the spaghetti in salted boiling water until al dente, slowly fry the onion and bacon in a couple of lugs of olive oil, until cooked. Stir in the tomatoes and vinegar and throw in your drained pasta. Season and toss together with the basil.

6 responses to “Cookbook challenge: Week 47 – Italian

  1. Now *that’s* the kind of Italian I can get behind! Fresh, bright, zingy flavours, and amenable to those who like bacon (not me, but I understand such people exist :P). Yum!

    • I am not the hugest bacon fan… but it is a simple thing to throw in to satisfy the boy with his meat quota. I tend to let it all pool in the bottom of the pan and give most of it to him ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m very similar to you, when I grab a quick take out its nearly always Thai (love the stuff); but at home I love cooking Italian food…. or French food ๐Ÿ™‚ There is so much you can do with pasta & go on, give it a try and make your own, its so much fun & tastes amazing.

  3. We always choose Thai food, and almost never choose Italian as not many places cater to us InTolerants. I’m finding that more and more places are coming around to my tummy’s way of thinking though. All good italian recipes for making at home are much appreciated! Yumm…

  4. I used to avoid Italian when eating out too (in favour of Asian) and instead make it at home. Now I do both – have it at home and eat out ๐Ÿ™‚ This recipe looks great, thanks for sharing!
    Heidi xo

Leave a Reply

